Skip to main content
8 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Aug 5, 2019 at 17:38 comment added new Q Open Wid I don't think so. Look, newbies who have 1 rep also can just ask 1 question or post 1 answer and gain rep very fast in a few years if the question is good. It is very rare, but a example of this on MathOverflow where the user counts as a newbie since he only asked a question and nothing else, then left that site right after he asked the question. But the user has 200+ rep and that is not considered new because as you say newbies have less than 100 rep and this user has more than 100 rep.
Aug 24, 2018 at 7:22 comment added Florian @ColleenV Well, 'new' as defined here is 'one week following their first post'. If I assume everyone with less than 100 rep to be 'new' I think I have a very accurate proxy. Probably I have quite some 'false positives'; people who have less than 100 rep but are on SO for longer than one week. So worst case scenario I'll be slightly too nice to a few people?
Aug 23, 2018 at 19:22 comment added ColleenV @Wildcard That is a better measure of participation, but I don’t think it matters, because I don’t think that we should identify newer users so we know who needs educating. I think we need to know who has recently made the leap from just reading to actually posting so we can say “glad you’re here new-to-us user, hope you enjoy the site. Here’s some general information you might find helpful.” That sets a tone for future interactions and may make some folks more willing to see comments as helpful instead of critical. (IMO)
Aug 23, 2018 at 19:11 comment added Wildcard @ColleenV, I think something like meta.stackexchange.com/q/252641/307622 for general users might make more sense.
Aug 23, 2018 at 19:06 comment added noob "Shouldn't we always be nice?" Of course, we should, but people keep forgetting this when noobs are involved. Dealing with newbies require patience, they don't get a lot of what we assume to know already.
Aug 23, 2018 at 13:38 comment added ColleenV Reputation is a measure of participation and how well received that participation is by the community, not necessarily how experienced someone is with the SE way of doing things. If you look at my reputation here on Meta without looking at my profile, how experienced would you guess I am with SE? Now look at my profile and see if your guess was right or not. (This would have been a more dramatic example a couple weeks ago before one of my answers got up-voted, but I think you get the idea)
Aug 23, 2018 at 11:48 history edited Florian CC BY-SA 4.0
deleted 4 characters in body
Aug 23, 2018 at 7:50 history answered Florian CC BY-SA 4.0