Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

4
  • 5
    I would imagine most veteran contributors do this out of the joy of helping people, and don't need to be thanked for taking their time to help someone for free. For me, at least, knowing I helped someone is the only reward I need. Commented Aug 22, 2018 at 15:02
  • 11
    My initial thought was that the notice will say that this is a veteran user who should know better by now, so you should feel free to downvote, vote to close, or flag if they aren’t following the guidelines. Maybe that’s not the state of mind the “new contributor” notice was intended to put me in though. grimace
    – ColleenV
    Commented Aug 22, 2018 at 15:57
  • 8
    @BryanOakley Me, too, 100%. That's exactly why it's so galling to be treated as if I'm an unhelpful BOFH.
    – jscs
    Commented Aug 26, 2018 at 18:48
  • Would be more useful if this is displayed in the comment section.
    – user202729
    Commented Sep 3, 2018 at 2:18