Skip to main content
Removed link for obvious reasons, and to not focus on a single incident, because there were multiple. Let's not get the post off topic, shall we?
Source Link
user341519
user341519

I wouldn't exactly call IPS a success.

From my interactions with with her, she's contributed to the toxicity of IPS, but also has some very well-formed answers. I deleted my account there because her and other mods/high-rep-users created a very hostile environment for people with differing world views from their own.

Even when trying to be civil and discussing how to communicate across our differences, she and others fanned the flames at times. Some of this may be due to the inherently polar nature of the type of questions the site receives, so the behavior is not without reason.

That said, I wish you success in your new role, the wisdom and divine skill to herd cats, and that you can learn from past mistakes. We all want StackOverflow to succeed, and you are now part of that.

I wouldn't exactly call IPS a success.

From my interactions with with her, she's contributed to the toxicity of IPS, but also has some very well-formed answers. I deleted my account there because her and other mods/high-rep-users created a very hostile environment for people with differing world views from their own.

Even when trying to be civil and discussing how to communicate across our differences, she and others fanned the flames at times. Some of this may be due to the inherently polar nature of the type of questions the site receives, so the behavior is not without reason.

That said, I wish you success in your new role, the wisdom and divine skill to herd cats, and that you can learn from past mistakes. We all want StackOverflow to succeed, and you are now part of that.

I wouldn't exactly call IPS a success.

From my interactions with her, she's contributed to the toxicity of IPS, but also has some very well-formed answers. I deleted my account there because her and other mods/high-rep-users created a very hostile environment for people with differing world views from their own.

Even when trying to be civil and discussing how to communicate across our differences, she and others fanned the flames at times. Some of this may be due to the inherently polar nature of the type of questions the site receives, so the behavior is not without reason.

That said, I wish you success in your new role, the wisdom and divine skill to herd cats, and that you can learn from past mistakes. We all want StackOverflow to succeed, and you are now part of that.

added 5 characters in body
Source Link
apaul
  • 20.2k
  • 2
  • 55
  • 98

I wouldn't exactly call IPS a success.

From my interactions with with her, she's contributed to the toxicity of IPS, but also has some very well-formed answers. I deleted my account there because her and other mods/high-rep-users created a very hostile environment for people with differing world views from their own.

Even when trying to be civil and discussing how to communicate across our differences, she and others fanned the flames at times. Some of this may be due to the inherently polar nature of the type of questions the site receives, so the behavior is not without reason.

That said, I wish you success in your new role, the wisdom and divine skill to herd cats, and that you can learn from past mistakes. We all want StackOverflow to succeed, and you are now part of that.

I wouldn't exactly call IPS a success.

From my interactions with her, she's contributed to the toxicity of IPS, but also has some very well-formed answers. I deleted my account there because her and other mods/high-rep-users created a very hostile environment for people with differing world views from their own.

Even when trying to be civil and discussing how to communicate across our differences, she and others fanned the flames at times. Some of this may be due to the inherently polar nature of the type of questions the site receives, so the behavior is not without reason.

That said, I wish you success in your new role, the wisdom and divine skill to herd cats, and that you can learn from past mistakes. We all want StackOverflow to succeed, and you are now part of that.

I wouldn't exactly call IPS a success.

From my interactions with with her, she's contributed to the toxicity of IPS, but also has some very well-formed answers. I deleted my account there because her and other mods/high-rep-users created a very hostile environment for people with differing world views from their own.

Even when trying to be civil and discussing how to communicate across our differences, she and others fanned the flames at times. Some of this may be due to the inherently polar nature of the type of questions the site receives, so the behavior is not without reason.

That said, I wish you success in your new role, the wisdom and divine skill to herd cats, and that you can learn from past mistakes. We all want StackOverflow to succeed, and you are now part of that.

Redacted comment (comment edited Aug 9, 2018 at 16:12)
Source Link
apaul
  • 20.2k
  • 2
  • 55
  • 98
Source Link
user341519
user341519
Loading