Skip to main content
Post Undeleted by Masked Man
Rewrote answer from scratch
Source Link
Masked Man
  • 3.5k
  • 16
  • 29

In my opinion, by bringingNote: I rewrote this answer from scratch to be more constructive. Meta-commentary about the previous version is towards the end.


Congratulations to Catija on to the team,joining the Stack ExchangeOverflow team has made yet another bad decision.

While I believe that Catija cannot take criticism. In my experiencehave crossed swords with her, I've noticed that any time anyone criticizes her, she either attacks the critic for "being hostile" or ask them to "drop in the discussion". This is usually supported with "N people disagree with you".

At one point, Catija tookpast a comment I made outnumber of context and posted it in a private chat roomtimes, where other users could pile on and I was unablelook forward to defend myself. This was after she had already sent me a mod message over the comment.

Another occasion, I entered a chat room where one user was demanding that another user delete their answer because they disagreedworking with it. A third user called someone a troll. I asked the third userher more constructively to stop doing those things because they were blatant violations of the Be Nice policyaddress issues. Rather than dealing with the users calling others "trolls"In particular, Catija asked me to "drop the discussion".

Eventually I got kicked out of that room by another moderator because (1) I confronted their "regular" users over their inappropriate commentshope we would be able to deal with criticism and (2) I did nothave difficult conversations without ending up with "drop the discussion". The users who were demanding that the answer be deleted and calling or "N people "trolls" did not get any punishmentagree/disagree with you". :-)

 

Nonetheless, sometimes people learn to swim after they are thrown into the sea. I hope this new role will help Catija learn to take criticism more constructively and be a better person overall. On a side note, I can notice my recent elevation to site moderator making slow but steady improvement to my attitude shown on the site, as well as making a difference in real life.I would have probably written the above answer to start with if dissenting comments on another answer had not been removed. Unfortunately, Catija bore the brunt of my displeasure with an action that she had nothing to do with. While nothing I say or do will make up for ruining her first day at work, I express my regret and apologize to Catija and everyone else whose day was ruined.

In my opinion, by bringing Catija on to the team, the Stack Exchange team has made yet another bad decision.

I believe that Catija cannot take criticism. In my experience with her, I've noticed that any time anyone criticizes her, she either attacks the critic for "being hostile" or ask them to "drop the discussion". This is usually supported with "N people disagree with you".

At one point, Catija took a comment I made out of context and posted it in a private chat room, where other users could pile on and I was unable to defend myself. This was after she had already sent me a mod message over the comment.

Another occasion, I entered a chat room where one user was demanding that another user delete their answer because they disagreed with it. A third user called someone a troll. I asked the third user to stop doing those things because they were blatant violations of the Be Nice policy. Rather than dealing with the users calling others "trolls", Catija asked me to "drop the discussion".

Eventually I got kicked out of that room by another moderator because (1) I confronted their "regular" users over their inappropriate comments and (2) I did not "drop the discussion". The users who were demanding that the answer be deleted and calling people "trolls" did not get any punishment.

Nonetheless, sometimes people learn to swim after they are thrown into the sea. I hope this new role will help Catija learn to take criticism more constructively and be a better person overall. On a side note, I can notice my recent elevation to site moderator making slow but steady improvement to my attitude shown on the site, as well as making a difference in real life.

Note: I rewrote this answer from scratch to be more constructive. Meta-commentary about the previous version is towards the end.


Congratulations to Catija on joining the Stack Overflow team.

While I have crossed swords with her in the past a number of times, I look forward to working with her more constructively to address issues. In particular, I hope we would be able to deal with criticism and have difficult conversations without ending up with "drop the discussion" or "N people agree/disagree with you". :-)

 

I would have probably written the above answer to start with if dissenting comments on another answer had not been removed. Unfortunately, Catija bore the brunt of my displeasure with an action that she had nothing to do with. While nothing I say or do will make up for ruining her first day at work, I express my regret and apologize to Catija and everyone else whose day was ruined.

Post Deleted by Masked Man
Rollback to Revision 3
Source Link
Christian Rau
  • 7k
  • 6
  • 30
  • 58

I wasn't going to write this as an answer, but someone deleted my comment under another answer simply because it was criticizing their chosen candidate, so here we go.

In my opinion, by bringing Catija on to the team, the Stack Exchange team has made yet another bad decision.

I believe that Catija cannot take criticism. In my experience with her, I've noticed that any time anyone criticizes her, she either attacks the critic for "being hostile" or ask them to "drop the discussion". This is usually supported with "N people disagree with you".

At one point, Catija took a comment I made out of context and posted it in a private chat room, where other users could pile on and I was unable to defend myself. This was after she had already sent me a mod message over the comment.

Another occasion, I entered a chat room where one user was demanding that another user delete their answer because they disagreed with it. A third user called someone a troll. I asked the third user to stop doing those things because they were blatant violations of the Be Nice policy. Rather than dealing with the users calling others "trolls", Catija asked me to "drop the discussion".

Eventually I got kicked out of that room by another moderator because (1) I confronted their "regular" users over their inappropriate comments and (2) I did not "drop the discussion". The users who were demanding that the answer be deleted and calling people "trolls" did not get any punishment.

Nonetheless, sometimes people learn to swim after they are thrown into the sea. I hope this new role will help Catija learn to take criticism more constructively and be a better person overall. On a side note, I can notice my recent elevation to site moderator making slow but steady improvement to my attitude shown on the site, as well as making a difference in real life.

I wasn't going to write this as an answer, but someone deleted my comment under another answer simply because it was criticizing their chosen candidate, so here we go.

In my opinion, by bringing Catija on to the team, the Stack Exchange team has made yet another bad decision.

I believe that Catija cannot take criticism. In my experience with her, I've noticed that any time anyone criticizes her, she either attacks the critic for "being hostile" or ask them to "drop the discussion". This is usually supported with "N people disagree with you".

At one point, Catija took a comment I made out of context and posted it in a private chat room, where other users could pile on and I was unable to defend myself. This was after she had already sent me a mod message over the comment.

Another occasion, I entered a chat room where one user was demanding that another user delete their answer because they disagreed with it. A third user called someone a troll. I asked the third user to stop doing those things because they were blatant violations of the Be Nice policy. Rather than dealing with the users calling others "trolls", Catija asked me to "drop the discussion".

Eventually I got kicked out of that room by another moderator because (1) I confronted their "regular" users over their inappropriate comments and (2) I did not "drop the discussion". The users who were demanding that the answer be deleted and calling people "trolls" did not get any punishment.

Nonetheless, sometimes people learn to swim after they are thrown into the sea. I hope this new role will help Catija learn to take criticism more constructively and be a better person overall. On a side note, I can notice my recent elevation to site moderator making slow but steady improvement to my attitude shown on the site, as well as making a difference in real life.

In my opinion, by bringing Catija on to the team, the Stack Exchange team has made yet another bad decision.

I believe that Catija cannot take criticism. In my experience with her, I've noticed that any time anyone criticizes her, she either attacks the critic for "being hostile" or ask them to "drop the discussion". This is usually supported with "N people disagree with you".

At one point, Catija took a comment I made out of context and posted it in a private chat room, where other users could pile on and I was unable to defend myself. This was after she had already sent me a mod message over the comment.

Another occasion, I entered a chat room where one user was demanding that another user delete their answer because they disagreed with it. A third user called someone a troll. I asked the third user to stop doing those things because they were blatant violations of the Be Nice policy. Rather than dealing with the users calling others "trolls", Catija asked me to "drop the discussion".

Eventually I got kicked out of that room by another moderator because (1) I confronted their "regular" users over their inappropriate comments and (2) I did not "drop the discussion". The users who were demanding that the answer be deleted and calling people "trolls" did not get any punishment.

Nonetheless, sometimes people learn to swim after they are thrown into the sea. I hope this new role will help Catija learn to take criticism more constructively and be a better person overall. On a side note, I can notice my recent elevation to site moderator making slow but steady improvement to my attitude shown on the site, as well as making a difference in real life.

Restoring paragraph which was seemingly removed in bad faith
Source Link
Masked Man
  • 3.5k
  • 16
  • 29

I wasn't going to write this as an answer, but someone deleted my comment under another answer simply because it was criticizing their chosen candidate, so here we go.

In my opinion, by bringing Catija on to the team, the Stack Exchange team has made yet another bad decision.

I believe that Catija cannot take criticism. In my experience with her, I've noticed that any time anyone criticizes her, she either attacks the critic for "being hostile" or ask them to "drop the discussion". This is usually supported with "N people disagree with you".

At one point, Catija took a comment I made out of context and posted it in a private chat room, where other users could pile on and I was unable to defend myself. This was after she had already sent me a mod message over the comment.

Another occasion, I entered a chat room where one user was demanding that another user delete their answer because they disagreed with it. A third user called someone a troll. I asked the third user to stop doing those things because they were blatant violations of the Be Nice policy. Rather than dealing with the users calling others "trolls", Catija asked me to "drop the discussion".

Eventually I got kicked out of that room by another moderator because (1) I confronted their "regular" users over their inappropriate comments and (2) I did not "drop the discussion". The users who were demanding that the answer be deleted and calling people "trolls" did not get any punishment.

Nonetheless, sometimes people learn to swim after they are thrown into the sea. I hope this new role will help Catija learn to take criticism more constructively and be a better person overall. On a side note, I can notice my recent elevation to site moderator making slow but steady improvement to my attitude shown on the site, as well as making a difference in real life.

In my opinion, by bringing Catija on to the team, the Stack Exchange team has made yet another bad decision.

I believe that Catija cannot take criticism. In my experience with her, I've noticed that any time anyone criticizes her, she either attacks the critic for "being hostile" or ask them to "drop the discussion". This is usually supported with "N people disagree with you".

At one point, Catija took a comment I made out of context and posted it in a private chat room, where other users could pile on and I was unable to defend myself. This was after she had already sent me a mod message over the comment.

Another occasion, I entered a chat room where one user was demanding that another user delete their answer because they disagreed with it. A third user called someone a troll. I asked the third user to stop doing those things because they were blatant violations of the Be Nice policy. Rather than dealing with the users calling others "trolls", Catija asked me to "drop the discussion".

Eventually I got kicked out of that room by another moderator because (1) I confronted their "regular" users over their inappropriate comments and (2) I did not "drop the discussion". The users who were demanding that the answer be deleted and calling people "trolls" did not get any punishment.

Nonetheless, sometimes people learn to swim after they are thrown into the sea. I hope this new role will help Catija learn to take criticism more constructively and be a better person overall. On a side note, I can notice my recent elevation to site moderator making slow but steady improvement to my attitude shown on the site, as well as making a difference in real life.

I wasn't going to write this as an answer, but someone deleted my comment under another answer simply because it was criticizing their chosen candidate, so here we go.

In my opinion, by bringing Catija on to the team, the Stack Exchange team has made yet another bad decision.

I believe that Catija cannot take criticism. In my experience with her, I've noticed that any time anyone criticizes her, she either attacks the critic for "being hostile" or ask them to "drop the discussion". This is usually supported with "N people disagree with you".

At one point, Catija took a comment I made out of context and posted it in a private chat room, where other users could pile on and I was unable to defend myself. This was after she had already sent me a mod message over the comment.

Another occasion, I entered a chat room where one user was demanding that another user delete their answer because they disagreed with it. A third user called someone a troll. I asked the third user to stop doing those things because they were blatant violations of the Be Nice policy. Rather than dealing with the users calling others "trolls", Catija asked me to "drop the discussion".

Eventually I got kicked out of that room by another moderator because (1) I confronted their "regular" users over their inappropriate comments and (2) I did not "drop the discussion". The users who were demanding that the answer be deleted and calling people "trolls" did not get any punishment.

Nonetheless, sometimes people learn to swim after they are thrown into the sea. I hope this new role will help Catija learn to take criticism more constructively and be a better person overall. On a side note, I can notice my recent elevation to site moderator making slow but steady improvement to my attitude shown on the site, as well as making a difference in real life.

Suggested an edit to focus on concrete critisism and clean up tone as requested by OP in the comments
Source Link
Loading
Made the post more "constructive"
Source Link
Masked Man
  • 3.5k
  • 16
  • 29
Loading
Source Link
Masked Man
  • 3.5k
  • 16
  • 29
Loading