Skip to main content
deleted 65 characters in body
Source Link
jpmc26
  • 5.6k
  • 1
  • 23
  • 26

We have plenty of guidance about what constitutes an answer on a main site. However, Meta is very different from main sites (as we all know), and I don't know of any "Not an Answer" guidance regarding Meta sites.

It was my understanding that Meta, being primarily for discussion and debate, had a much broader view of what's appropriate in the "Answer" box. It was my understanding that in a policy discussion or debate, an answer can be used to raise major points of relevance, even if they don't . While I endeavor to actually provide some sort of resolution whenever I have the requisite knowledge or an opinion on the matter, I have used them to post relevant but non-definitive commentary, related questions, and potentially helpful information that doesn't directly lead to resolution. A user recently challenged my understanding of this as a response to challenged my understanding of thisthis answer I posted.

Is my understanding correct? Can an answer on Meta be used to raise a specific point of relevant discussion/debate? Or must a Meta answer provide some kind of resolution to whatever problem or news the post describes? Does it depend on the original question/post?

We have plenty of guidance about what constitutes an answer on a main site. However, Meta is very different from main sites (as we all know), and I don't know of any "Not an Answer" guidance regarding Meta sites.

It was my understanding that Meta, being primarily for discussion and debate, had a much broader view of what's appropriate in the "Answer" box. It was my understanding that in a policy discussion or debate, an answer can be used to raise major points of relevance, even if they don't . While I endeavor to actually provide some sort of resolution whenever I have the requisite knowledge or an opinion on the matter, I have used them to post relevant but non-definitive commentary, related questions, and potentially helpful information that doesn't directly lead to resolution. A user recently challenged my understanding of this.

Is my understanding correct? Can an answer on Meta be used to raise a specific point of relevant discussion/debate? Or must a Meta answer provide some kind of resolution to whatever problem or news the post describes? Does it depend on the original question/post?

We have plenty of guidance about what constitutes an answer on a main site. However, Meta is very different from main sites (as we all know), and I don't know of any "Not an Answer" guidance regarding Meta sites.

It was my understanding that Meta, being primarily for discussion and debate, had a much broader view of what's appropriate in the "Answer" box. It was my understanding that in a policy discussion or debate, an answer can be used to raise major points of relevance, even if they don't . While I endeavor to actually provide some sort of resolution whenever I have the requisite knowledge or an opinion on the matter, I have used them to post relevant but non-definitive commentary, related questions, and potentially helpful information that doesn't directly lead to resolution. A user recently challenged my understanding of this as a response to this answer I posted.

Is my understanding correct? Can an answer on Meta be used to raise a specific point of relevant discussion/debate? Or must a Meta answer provide some kind of resolution to whatever problem or news the post describes? Does it depend on the original question/post?

added 9 characters in body
Source Link
jpmc26
  • 5.6k
  • 1
  • 23
  • 26

We have plenty of guidance about what constitutes an answer on a main site. However, Meta is very different from main sites (as we all know), and I don't know of any "Not an Answer" guidance regarding Meta sites.

It was my understanding that Meta, being primarily for discussion and debate, had a much broader view of what's appropriate in the "Answer" box. It was my understanding that in a policy discussion or debate, an answer can be used to raise major points of relevance, even if they don't . While I endeavor to actually provide some sort of resolution whenever I have the requisite knowledge or an opinion on the matter, I have used them to post relevant but non-definitive commentary, related questions, and potentially helpful information that doesn't directly lead to resolution. A user recently challenged my understanding of this.

Is my understanding correct? Can an answer on Meta be used to raise a specific point of relevant discussion/debate? Or must a Meta answer provide some kind of resolution to whatever problem or news the post describes? Does it depend on the original question/post?

We have plenty of guidance about what constitutes an answer on a main site. However, Meta is very different from main sites (as we all know), and I don't know of any "Not an Answer" guidance regarding Meta sites.

It was my understanding that Meta, being primarily for discussion and debate, had a much broader view of what's appropriate in the "Answer" box. It was my understanding that in a policy discussion or debate, an answer can be used to raise major points of relevance, even if they don't . While I endeavor to actually provide some sort of resolution whenever I have the requisite knowledge or an opinion on the matter, I have used them to post relevant but non-definitive commentary, related questions, and potentially helpful information that doesn't directly lead to resolution. A user recently challenged my understanding of this.

Is my understanding correct? Can an answer on Meta be used to raise a specific point of discussion/debate? Or must a Meta answer provide some kind of resolution to whatever problem or news the post describes? Does it depend on the original question/post?

We have plenty of guidance about what constitutes an answer on a main site. However, Meta is very different from main sites (as we all know), and I don't know of any "Not an Answer" guidance regarding Meta sites.

It was my understanding that Meta, being primarily for discussion and debate, had a much broader view of what's appropriate in the "Answer" box. It was my understanding that in a policy discussion or debate, an answer can be used to raise major points of relevance, even if they don't . While I endeavor to actually provide some sort of resolution whenever I have the requisite knowledge or an opinion on the matter, I have used them to post relevant but non-definitive commentary, related questions, and potentially helpful information that doesn't directly lead to resolution. A user recently challenged my understanding of this.

Is my understanding correct? Can an answer on Meta be used to raise a specific point of relevant discussion/debate? Or must a Meta answer provide some kind of resolution to whatever problem or news the post describes? Does it depend on the original question/post?

added 68 characters in body
Source Link
jpmc26
  • 5.6k
  • 1
  • 23
  • 26

We have plenty of guidance about what constitutes an answer on a main site. However, Meta is very different from main sites (as we all know), and I don't know of any "Not an Answer" guidance regarding Meta sites.

It was my understanding that Meta, being primarily for discussion and debate, had a much broader view of what's appropriate in the "Answer" box. It was my understanding that in a policy discussion or debate, an answer can be used to raise major points of relevance, even if they don't . While I endeavor to actually provide some sort of resolution whenever I have the requisite knowledge or an opinion on the matter, I have used them to post relevant but non-definitive commentary, related questions, and potentially helpful information that doesn't directly lead to resolution. A user recently challenged my understanding of this.

Is my understanding correct? Can an answer on Meta be used to raise a specific point of discussion/debate? Or must a Meta answer provide some kind of resolution to whatever problem or news the post describes? Does it depend on the original question/post?

We have plenty of guidance about what constitutes an answer on a main site. However, Meta is very different from main sites (as we all know), and I don't know of any "Not an Answer" guidance regarding Meta sites.

It was my understanding that Meta, being primarily for discussion and debate, had a much broader view of what's appropriate in the "Answer" box. It was my understanding that in a policy discussion or debate, an answer can be used to raise major points of relevance, even if they don't . While I endeavor to actually provide some sort of resolution, I have used them to post relevant but non-definitive commentary, related questions, and potentially helpful information that doesn't directly lead to resolution. A user recently challenged my understanding of this.

Is my understanding correct? Can an answer on Meta be used to raise a specific point of discussion/debate? Or must a Meta answer provide some kind of resolution to whatever problem or news the post describes? Does it depend on the original question/post?

We have plenty of guidance about what constitutes an answer on a main site. However, Meta is very different from main sites (as we all know), and I don't know of any "Not an Answer" guidance regarding Meta sites.

It was my understanding that Meta, being primarily for discussion and debate, had a much broader view of what's appropriate in the "Answer" box. It was my understanding that in a policy discussion or debate, an answer can be used to raise major points of relevance, even if they don't . While I endeavor to actually provide some sort of resolution whenever I have the requisite knowledge or an opinion on the matter, I have used them to post relevant but non-definitive commentary, related questions, and potentially helpful information that doesn't directly lead to resolution. A user recently challenged my understanding of this.

Is my understanding correct? Can an answer on Meta be used to raise a specific point of discussion/debate? Or must a Meta answer provide some kind of resolution to whatever problem or news the post describes? Does it depend on the original question/post?

Source Link
jpmc26
  • 5.6k
  • 1
  • 23
  • 26
Loading