Skip to main content
14 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Dec 8, 2018 at 18:49 comment added user212646 I personally get annoyed when companies, not prominent individuals who work for companies, make public declarations on politics that has no relation to their business. SE has an opinion on net neutrality? Makes perfect sense. SE has an opinion on some civil issue? Makes no sense. Bad example: Starbucks. Just make the effing coffee. Mixed example: NFL kneeling players. I feel like "just play the effing game", but I understand these are individual players, not team owners or the NFL. Good example: most companies that just make a good product/service.
Jul 13, 2017 at 0:20 comment added Andras Deak -- Слава Україні Regardless of politics, good to have you on board, @SuperJer :)
Jul 12, 2017 at 23:13 comment added Jerbot As a dissenter, standing strongly opposed to net neutrality regulation, I'm not troubled in the least by OP's 'question', or the fact that SE is used as a platform for its publication. I have no right to SE, and I will continue using it for as long as it's available to me and serves my needs.
Jul 12, 2017 at 11:58 comment added Chill2Macht @PeterTurner I would agree that nobody's opinions matter more. I suppose I am upset about whose opinions politicians spend more lip service pretending to care about than others, but that actually is fairly pointless, i.e. complaining about whose opinions representatives bother to pretend to represent the most. Hopefully the robots manage to make a perfect society for themselves after they kill us all, although I doubt it, since we would be the ones who made them, and therefore they will be indelibly tainted to some extent with the remnants of our own flaws.
Jul 12, 2017 at 11:36 comment added Peter Turner @chill dude nobody's opinions matter more. That is not how our government works.
Jul 1, 2017 at 10:07 comment added Andras Deak -- Слава Україні @BSMP What I meant was "if you express your opinion, people who disagree will hate you" as opposed to rage-quitting for political reasons which can be the result of feeling misrepresented. Let's face it: most people already have a solid opinion of Shog9 ;)
Jul 1, 2017 at 7:36 comment added BSMP I don't think anyone minds if you express your opinions - It seemed like plenty of people minded, especially on the last one. Some were "don't speak for me" but some were just "No, shut up" and some were "don't speak for me, oh but there's no way for you to say it in a way I won't insist you're trying to represent me so shut up".
Jul 1, 2017 at 2:40 comment added Peter Turner @alex I have posted a not so well recived answer already. As for Eich, I'd say they made it might unconfortable for him for reasons having nothing to do with his ability to perform his duties - worse than being fired.
Jun 30, 2017 at 23:19 comment added Alexander O'Mara @PeterTurner Brendan Eich wasn't fired. He resigned. Also, if you have something new nobody has brought up, you should post an answer. Just remember, [citation needed].
Jun 30, 2017 at 15:35 comment added Peter Turner This is what I can't stand, all the political messaging on this site is costal groupthink, the kind of garbage that got Brandon Eich fired. Nobody has brought up here that they want to regulate the content of the Internet and make it more like broadcast media. And in the end we'll need licenses to have websites, podcast and blog.
Jun 29, 2017 at 22:52 comment added Andras Deak -- Слава Україні Needless to say, I wouldn't want to hang with the users who are driven away by these gestures, but SO is supposed to be built around expertise and technical subjects, so the fact that I completely disagree with these people is irrelevant; what matters is that they help build the knowledge base that is SO (and the SE network in general).
Jun 29, 2017 at 22:45 comment added Andras Deak -- Слава Україні @Shog oh, flak is one thing:) But I've seen the aftermath (overstatement, but you probably know what I mean) of the LGBTQ rights event, and I saw the reaction to Joel's recent post. I don't think anyone minds if you express your opinions; it seems to me that what some people object to is if they feel represented by said expressions of opinions. Not that it should matter, but I'm happily represented by these statements, and I wouldn't mind if there were more of them. But these political frictions are what might actually drive users away.
Jun 29, 2017 at 22:42 comment added Shog9 I get push-back when I announce the results of elections. I always expect some negativity; at the end of the day, I'd rather say what I think and catch flack for it than say what I don't and still catch flack.
Jun 29, 2017 at 22:26 history answered Andras Deak -- Слава Україні CC BY-SA 3.0