Skip to main content
9 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Aug 4, 2016 at 14:12 history bounty ended auden
Aug 4, 2016 at 14:12 comment added auden I see. I was specifically requesting that flag as there have been many comment-answers on physics.SE recently, to the point where there's a whole meta discussion. Well, I'll award you the bounty now, it seems like no part of my idea is feasible.
Aug 4, 2016 at 14:11 comment added enderland @heather "too chatty" is normally good for that, though I think each site has its own "tolerance" for this sort of comment.
Aug 4, 2016 at 14:09 comment added auden I see. That makes sense. Last question (again, thanks for all your help): would it be possible to add a flag that moderators could handle, as described in my answer - an "answer in comment" flag?
Aug 4, 2016 at 13:12 comment added enderland @heather I guess I'm not sure what to say. My experience moderating comments on a site a little (smaller than Physics SE) leads me to strongly believe that this would not be a good idea. The problem isn't "could some comments be community moderated?" which is a yes, but the problem is, "could you automatically know which comments need to be manually moderated vs community moderated?" and that answer I'm fairly sure is a "no."
Aug 4, 2016 at 2:21 comment added auden I understand what you're saying, but that's why you have multiple people review it, right? Also, wouldn't a comment flagged by a user not show up in their comment review queue? I think that removes at least some of the bias. Finally, in terms of appropriate-ness, these would be 15k or higher users, with lots of experience in the site, and there would be guidelines like there are for all review queues at the top. I'm not sure, but I think that resolves some of the issues, at least.And, I guess I should say, it doesn't have to include the rude/offensive flags.
Aug 4, 2016 at 2:00 comment added enderland @heather that work well in theory, but in practice it would break down I think. A few reasons - many people have, ah, wrong impressions for appropriateness of comments. As a moderator on Workplace I see this often. People often people flag comments that are "against" them too, which is not great for a system like this.
Aug 3, 2016 at 23:52 comment added auden That makes sense, but wouldn't the queue just link to the page, and if the comment is flagged to be deleted the reviewer deletes the necessary comments as well? Thanks for answering!
Aug 3, 2016 at 23:27 history answered enderland CC BY-SA 3.0