Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

6
  • 2
    I'm all for fewer ads, but I just don't see this happening. Surely all SO users with 100k rep use Adblock or userscripts that don't show the ads anyway. Less technical users who have 100k on a non-IT site might not, but since when has SE ever cared about those? Commented Jan 8, 2016 at 1:55
  • 9
    Are you talking specifically about SO? I never see external ads on the sites I'm active on, just the SE and community-promotion ads -- and I want to see those. Commented Jan 8, 2016 at 2:25
  • I don't see adds on SO either. I just tested with Adblock disabled and I still didn't see any. What are these adds you speak of?
    – terdon
    Commented Jan 8, 2016 at 10:16
  • @MonicaCellio My expectation is that as they move to the standard sidebar ad format they will increase their ad display. Right now when they don't have ads to show, they show internal ads, such as area51, community promotion, and jobs. When they have external advertising, the internal ads compete. My understanding is that the internal ads are not much more than placeholders, and will always lose out to paid advertising.
    – Pollyanna
    Commented Jan 8, 2016 at 12:57
  • In principle, sure, but is anybody trying to sell ads for Skeptics or Mi Yodeya or Seasoned Advice? I thought they weren't. Commented Jan 8, 2016 at 14:13
  • 2
    Would this principle be the same but lower rep points for beta sites? (like how the moderation system works) Commented Jan 8, 2016 at 21:19