Skip to main content
replaced http://stackoverflow.com/ with https://stackoverflow.com/
Source Link

Increased tag synonym privilege

Users with this privilege can suggest and vote on tag synonyms with lessened requirements; instead of a score of 5a score of 5, they only need to have either a score of 1 (demonstrating involvement), or for the tag to be below a certain threshold of usage (demonstrating not-going-to-hurt-anything).


I often notice tags that ought to be synonyms of other tags, but I cannot make the suggestion because I do not have the requisite 5 score in the target tag, and very few other people would be around to vote on it at all, because the tag simply does not have that many questions (or does not have enough rate of questions to deliberately work towards the 5 score). This privilege would allow people to perform more cleanup of the long tail.

(That said, I'm not sure I want this to actually be the shiny new 30k privilege, because I think it ought to be available much sooner than that.)

Increased tag synonym privilege

Users with this privilege can suggest and vote on tag synonyms with lessened requirements; instead of a score of 5, they only need to have either a score of 1 (demonstrating involvement), or for the tag to be below a certain threshold of usage (demonstrating not-going-to-hurt-anything).


I often notice tags that ought to be synonyms of other tags, but I cannot make the suggestion because I do not have the requisite 5 score in the target tag, and very few other people would be around to vote on it at all, because the tag simply does not have that many questions (or does not have enough rate of questions to deliberately work towards the 5 score). This privilege would allow people to perform more cleanup of the long tail.

(That said, I'm not sure I want this to actually be the shiny new 30k privilege, because I think it ought to be available much sooner than that.)

Increased tag synonym privilege

Users with this privilege can suggest and vote on tag synonyms with lessened requirements; instead of a score of 5, they only need to have either a score of 1 (demonstrating involvement), or for the tag to be below a certain threshold of usage (demonstrating not-going-to-hurt-anything).


I often notice tags that ought to be synonyms of other tags, but I cannot make the suggestion because I do not have the requisite 5 score in the target tag, and very few other people would be around to vote on it at all, because the tag simply does not have that many questions (or does not have enough rate of questions to deliberately work towards the 5 score). This privilege would allow people to perform more cleanup of the long tail.

(That said, I'm not sure I want this to actually be the shiny new 30k privilege, because I think it ought to be available much sooner than that.)

Source Link
Kevin Reid
  • 4.5k
  • 24
  • 34

Increased tag synonym privilege

Users with this privilege can suggest and vote on tag synonyms with lessened requirements; instead of a score of 5, they only need to have either a score of 1 (demonstrating involvement), or for the tag to be below a certain threshold of usage (demonstrating not-going-to-hurt-anything).


I often notice tags that ought to be synonyms of other tags, but I cannot make the suggestion because I do not have the requisite 5 score in the target tag, and very few other people would be around to vote on it at all, because the tag simply does not have that many questions (or does not have enough rate of questions to deliberately work towards the 5 score). This privilege would allow people to perform more cleanup of the long tail.

(That said, I'm not sure I want this to actually be the shiny new 30k privilege, because I think it ought to be available much sooner than that.)