Skip to main content
14 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Jul 20, 2015 at 13:19 comment added RomanSt Just use Multifox or similar. This is the only real solution for the "multiple accounts" problem. We should stop demanding individual sites to support this workflow and start demanding better support on the browser side.
Jul 12, 2015 at 4:38 comment added tobinjim Before this comment area gets locked to prevent "Hip hip hooray!" pile ons, let me just say, "Hip Hip HOORAY!" Thank you to all who have been sweating the details on this.
Jul 10, 2015 at 2:31 comment added Nicolas Raoul Multifox can be used to have different sessions in tabs of the same browser window.
Jul 9, 2015 at 17:28 comment added fadden Having multiple profiles in Chrome has worked well for my Google accounts (one for personal, one for business), and I don't have to suffer through the loss of cookies in incognito mode. Logging in to both accounts from a single profile worked fine for gmail but had issues when I wanted to log into the Google Play Store and it insisted on using the primary (/u/0/) account. You end up with two browser windows -- same as incognito -- but everything works correctly.
Jul 9, 2015 at 16:54 comment added Tim @AlE. You can always use safe / incognito mode.
Jul 9, 2015 at 11:26 comment added ale Yeah, this is borked. I use a different Google account for SE sites on some more "frivolous" topics. It used to work just great. Now my other account is recognized at those sites and it wants to log me in with this one. Not happy that I'm going to need to fire up a different browser.
Jul 8, 2015 at 21:19 history edited Jonathan Leffler CC BY-SA 3.0
retropspectively --> retrospectively
Jul 8, 2015 at 8:06 comment added Raphael @AdamLear Can't you have site-specific cookies that override the global one? Another idea would be to have one login, but several identities. Only staff (and maybe mods) would be able to tell two identities used the same login. Users would have to choose one identity per site they want to join. (So I could be Raphael on my "home site" Computer Science but AnonymousAngryGradStudent on Academia.)
Jul 8, 2015 at 8:05 comment added Raphael Agreed. My main account can be tied to me real-world identity (by my own choice); where I to inquire about a sensitive matter on, say, Academia, The Workplace or Parenting, I would want another account.
Jul 7, 2015 at 23:18 comment added Martin Beckett Multiple accounts was working for me, one is an openid provider and the other is a stackexchange login, both login me in separately automatically. Other than using the same computer SO shouldn't know that they are in anyway linked. Wasn't that the whole point of openID - I don't want to trust a site with my details so they can track my other online activities?
Jul 7, 2015 at 22:05 comment added Adam Lear StaffMod Thanks again for bringing this up - I'll be sure to add a note to the post once changes are rolled out with tips/help/instructions for multi-account users.
Jul 7, 2015 at 15:36 comment added Kate Gregory sure! I believe you know my address already :-)
Jul 7, 2015 at 15:32 comment added Adam Lear StaffMod We don't officially support multiple accounts, but we're also not going out of our way to break them. You are still welcome to run as many accounts as you want (so long as they don't interact - I know you know this, but I'm including this note for completeness' sake), but you will have to log out/log in when you want to switch between the two (or use two different browsers). Having said that... I'm trying to figure out how you logged into two different accounts at the same time given how current global auth works. :) Mind if I shoot you an email to discuss specifics?
Jul 7, 2015 at 12:55 history answered Kate Gregory CC BY-SA 3.0