Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

15
  • 3
    Could you elaborate in what way this affects privacy? You can always use your browser's incognito/privacy mode if you want to visit a site while being truly logged out.
    – musiKk
    Commented Jul 7, 2015 at 11:18
  • 35
    To be clear: this doesn't create a user for you, it will only do universal login you in if you have one. We have no plans at all to auto-create users, we agree that's terribad. Commented Jul 7, 2015 at 11:46
  • I understand. Consider the situation that I want to be logged in abc.stackexchange.com, but I don't want to be logged in xyz.stackexchange.com. If I want, I can login on my will. Login should be tak place upon explicit request of the user.
    – Ho1
    Commented Jul 7, 2015 at 14:35
  • 3
    That's... not exactly how it works right now. It should (at the present) automatically log you in, but then you have to refresh the page. In the future, even that would be simpler.
    – hichris123
    Commented Jul 7, 2015 at 14:37
  • 2
    As the post says: "When you log into any Q&A site on the stackexchange.com domain, you will be automatically logged into all other Q&A sites on the stackexchange.com domain + stackexchange.com itself". So, if I want to login to abc.stackexchange.com, I can not avoid logging into other subdomains of this domain. There should be local authentication, and global authentication. One that logs into the stackexchange.com should be different from the one that logs into abc.stackexchange.com. If this is what is going to happen, I appreciate that.
    – Ho1
    Commented Jul 7, 2015 at 14:39
  • 4
    @Ho1 "So, if I want to login to abc.stackexchange.com, I can not avoid logging into other subdomains of this domain" That is correct, and how things have been for a while now.
    – Kevin B
    Commented Jul 7, 2015 at 14:41
  • 4
    @KevinB Are you sure? Cookies are set for specific subdomains, and not the top level domain. Right now, I am logged into meta.stackexchange.com but I am not in apple.stackexchange.com (which I also have an account). And I appreciate this behaviour. If I'm wrong please correct me.
    – Ho1
    Commented Jul 7, 2015 at 14:50
  • 3
    If you have an account there, and go there after being logged in here, it will log you in and a bar will appear at the top of the site telling you that you are now logged in, assuming the account is using the same openid or email.
    – Kevin B
    Commented Jul 7, 2015 at 14:51
  • 1
    @KevinB When I have an account on site A and logged out there on a previous visit, I wouldn't want to be logged in automatically when I go there again just because I'm logged in on site B. In other words: I wouldn't want a global auto-log-in.
    – TehMacDawg
    Commented Jul 7, 2015 at 15:14
  • It doesn't seem to do it if you logout.
    – Kevin B
    Commented Jul 7, 2015 at 15:18
  • 1
    @TehMacDawg You wouldn't want it? You already have it, they're just making it suck less. Commented Jul 8, 2015 at 14:49
  • 1
    @AnthonyGrist I just tested that, and no, I'm not automatically logged back in on a site where I logged out before. — If this were to happen, it would be a huge change as it would practically be the elimination of user-controlled site-wise log-in/out… Could you test it yourself? I'm not sure if this might be the Safari thing, or because I'm using one of the third-party ID options for login.
    – TehMacDawg
    Commented Jul 8, 2015 at 15:29
  • @AnthonyGrist OK, the current state: If I'm logged in specifically on the top domain 'stackexchange.com', I automatically get logged in on any subdomain I go if I have an account there, even when I had previously logged out there. But if I'm not logged in on 'stackexchange.com', I do not get logged in on that subdomain even if I am logged in on another subdomain. — The rationale behind this principle isn't very clear to me as I'm never on 'stackexchange.com' and have always perceived all SE domains as separate communities on the same level rather than in a hierarchy.
    – TehMacDawg
    Commented Jul 8, 2015 at 20:21
  • 1
    +sigh+ Scrap that, I'm now auto-logged in everywhere I have an account, if I log in to just one domain.
    – TehMacDawg
    Commented Jul 8, 2015 at 23:27
  • Previously, I wasn't auto-logged-in to other sites when I had third-party cookies disabled. Not sure if that is still the case.
    – user154510
    Commented Jul 17, 2015 at 18:21