Skip to main content
added 16 characters in body
Source Link
wythagoras
  • 9.3k
  • 33
  • 68

Oct. 24, 2015 (Jon Ericson)

So I think showing deleted posts that you commented on will encourage useless (or barely useful) comments on deletable posts. If you are just commenting, you don't have any special stake in a post. (Now an edit, might be a different story.) For deleted questions you've answered and deleted answers to your question, I can see some value. I'm debating whether to decline this idea, but I think there's a possibility it might help more people than it bothers. The cases I'm most worried about are outrageously offensive answers to a question that stick around to aggravate you forever and encouraging people to answer bad questions rather than downvote them. There are ways around this (don't show posts deleted as offensive, for instance), but it starts to get complicated.

So I'm going to think about this idea a bit more.


You did not specify, how high “high reputation” is here, so you might consider the following suggestion for some reputation level before 10 k (say 4 k) “off-topic”:

See deleted posts under some conditions

In general:

I sometimes want to check the progress of my efforts to improve posts by editing, teaching the poster on using the site or asking the poster about specific unclarities. On sites, where I have not reached 10 k, if the post got deleted, this may result in me searching for a while and just not finding it, which can be quite annoying. Thus it would be nice to be able to see deleted posts, on which I participated in some way.

In particular:

  • See deleted questions (and answers to them) if you posted an answer to the question yourself. This is particularly annoying if I post an elaborate answer to a question, which then gets deleted for no apparent reason (e.g., by a user misunderstanding the system). In this case, I have no easy means of salvaging my answer.

  • See deleted answers to your own question. If an answer gets deleted, this is usally for a good reason. But if you ask a question, it’s sometimes useful to have an overview of the whole story.

  • See any deleted posts on which you commented – for the general reasons described above.

(Jon Ericson)

So I think showing deleted posts that you commented on will encourage useless (or barely useful) comments on deletable posts. If you are just commenting, you don't have any special stake in a post. (Now an edit, might be a different story.) For deleted questions you've answered and deleted answers to your question, I can see some value. I'm debating whether to decline this idea, but I think there's a possibility it might help more people than it bothers. The cases I'm most worried about are outrageously offensive answers to a question that stick around to aggravate you forever and encouraging people to answer bad questions rather than downvote them. There are ways around this (don't show posts deleted as offensive, for instance), but it starts to get complicated.

So I'm going to think about this idea a bit more.


You did not specify, how high “high reputation” is here, so you might consider the following suggestion for some reputation level before 10 k (say 4 k) “off-topic”:

See deleted posts under some conditions

In general:

I sometimes want to check the progress of my efforts to improve posts by editing, teaching the poster on using the site or asking the poster about specific unclarities. On sites, where I have not reached 10 k, if the post got deleted, this may result in me searching for a while and just not finding it, which can be quite annoying. Thus it would be nice to be able to see deleted posts, on which I participated in some way.

In particular:

  • See deleted questions (and answers to them) if you posted an answer to the question yourself. This is particularly annoying if I post an elaborate answer to a question, which then gets deleted for no apparent reason (e.g., by a user misunderstanding the system). In this case, I have no easy means of salvaging my answer.

  • See deleted answers to your own question. If an answer gets deleted, this is usally for a good reason. But if you ask a question, it’s sometimes useful to have an overview of the whole story.

  • See any deleted posts on which you commented – for the general reasons described above.

Oct. 24, 2015 (Jon Ericson)

So I think showing deleted posts that you commented on will encourage useless (or barely useful) comments on deletable posts. If you are just commenting, you don't have any special stake in a post. (Now an edit, might be a different story.) For deleted questions you've answered and deleted answers to your question, I can see some value. I'm debating whether to decline this idea, but I think there's a possibility it might help more people than it bothers. The cases I'm most worried about are outrageously offensive answers to a question that stick around to aggravate you forever and encouraging people to answer bad questions rather than downvote them. There are ways around this (don't show posts deleted as offensive, for instance), but it starts to get complicated.

So I'm going to think about this idea a bit more.


You did not specify, how high “high reputation” is here, so you might consider the following suggestion for some reputation level before 10 k (say 4 k) “off-topic”:

See deleted posts under some conditions

In general:

I sometimes want to check the progress of my efforts to improve posts by editing, teaching the poster on using the site or asking the poster about specific unclarities. On sites, where I have not reached 10 k, if the post got deleted, this may result in me searching for a while and just not finding it, which can be quite annoying. Thus it would be nice to be able to see deleted posts, on which I participated in some way.

In particular:

  • See deleted questions (and answers to them) if you posted an answer to the question yourself. This is particularly annoying if I post an elaborate answer to a question, which then gets deleted for no apparent reason (e.g., by a user misunderstanding the system). In this case, I have no easy means of salvaging my answer.

  • See deleted answers to your own question. If an answer gets deleted, this is usally for a good reason. But if you ask a question, it’s sometimes useful to have an overview of the whole story.

  • See any deleted posts on which you commented – for the general reasons described above.

Thanks for the suggestion. Another question I have is "How often does this happen to people?" My gut says it's kinda rare.
Source Link
Jon Ericson
  • 79.6k
  • 34
  • 244
  • 343

(Jon Ericson)

So I think showing deleted posts that you commented on will encourage useless (or barely useful) comments on deletable posts. If you are just commenting, you don't have any special stake in a post. (Now an edit, might be a different story.) For deleted questions you've answered and deleted answers to your question, I can see some value. I'm debating whether to decline this idea, but I think there's a possibility it might help more people than it bothers. The cases I'm most worried about are outrageously offensive answers to a question that stick around to aggravate you forever and encouraging people to answer bad questions rather than downvote them. There are ways around this (don't show posts deleted as offensive, for instance), but it starts to get complicated.

So I'm going to think about this idea a bit more.


You did not specify, how high “high reputation” is here, so you might consider the following suggestion for some reputation level before 10 k (say 4 k) “off-topic”:

See deleted posts under some conditions

In general:

I sometimes want to check the progress of my efforts to improve posts by editing, teaching the poster on using the site or asking the poster about specific unclarities. On sites, where I have not reached 10 k, if the post got deleted, this may result in me searching for a while and just not finding it, which can be quite annoying. Thus it would be nice to be able to see deleted posts, on which I participated in some way.

In particular:

  • See deleted questions (and answers to them) if you posted an answer to the question yourself. This is particularly annoying if I post an elaborate answer to a question, which then gets deleted for no apparent reason (e.g., by a user misunderstanding the system). In this case, I have no easy means of salvaging my answer.

  • See deleted answers to your own question. If an answer gets deleted, this is usally for a good reason. But if you ask a question, it’s sometimes useful to have an overview of the whole story.

  • See any deleted posts on which you commented – for the general reasons described above.

You did not specify, how high “high reputation” is here, so you might consider the following suggestion for some reputation level before 10 k (say 4 k) “off-topic”:

See deleted posts under some conditions

In general:

I sometimes want to check the progress of my efforts to improve posts by editing, teaching the poster on using the site or asking the poster about specific unclarities. On sites, where I have not reached 10 k, if the post got deleted, this may result in me searching for a while and just not finding it, which can be quite annoying. Thus it would be nice to be able to see deleted posts, on which I participated in some way.

In particular:

  • See deleted questions (and answers to them) if you posted an answer to the question yourself. This is particularly annoying if I post an elaborate answer to a question, which then gets deleted for no apparent reason (e.g., by a user misunderstanding the system). In this case, I have no easy means of salvaging my answer.

  • See deleted answers to your own question. If an answer gets deleted, this is usally for a good reason. But if you ask a question, it’s sometimes useful to have an overview of the whole story.

  • See any deleted posts on which you commented – for the general reasons described above.

(Jon Ericson)

So I think showing deleted posts that you commented on will encourage useless (or barely useful) comments on deletable posts. If you are just commenting, you don't have any special stake in a post. (Now an edit, might be a different story.) For deleted questions you've answered and deleted answers to your question, I can see some value. I'm debating whether to decline this idea, but I think there's a possibility it might help more people than it bothers. The cases I'm most worried about are outrageously offensive answers to a question that stick around to aggravate you forever and encouraging people to answer bad questions rather than downvote them. There are ways around this (don't show posts deleted as offensive, for instance), but it starts to get complicated.

So I'm going to think about this idea a bit more.


You did not specify, how high “high reputation” is here, so you might consider the following suggestion for some reputation level before 10 k (say 4 k) “off-topic”:

See deleted posts under some conditions

In general:

I sometimes want to check the progress of my efforts to improve posts by editing, teaching the poster on using the site or asking the poster about specific unclarities. On sites, where I have not reached 10 k, if the post got deleted, this may result in me searching for a while and just not finding it, which can be quite annoying. Thus it would be nice to be able to see deleted posts, on which I participated in some way.

In particular:

  • See deleted questions (and answers to them) if you posted an answer to the question yourself. This is particularly annoying if I post an elaborate answer to a question, which then gets deleted for no apparent reason (e.g., by a user misunderstanding the system). In this case, I have no easy means of salvaging my answer.

  • See deleted answers to your own question. If an answer gets deleted, this is usally for a good reason. But if you ask a question, it’s sometimes useful to have an overview of the whole story.

  • See any deleted posts on which you commented – for the general reasons described above.

Source Link
Wrzlprmft
  • 28.2k
  • 5
  • 77
  • 150

You did not specify, how high “high reputation” is here, so you might consider the following suggestion for some reputation level before 10 k (say 4 k) “off-topic”:

See deleted posts under some conditions

In general:

I sometimes want to check the progress of my efforts to improve posts by editing, teaching the poster on using the site or asking the poster about specific unclarities. On sites, where I have not reached 10 k, if the post got deleted, this may result in me searching for a while and just not finding it, which can be quite annoying. Thus it would be nice to be able to see deleted posts, on which I participated in some way.

In particular:

  • See deleted questions (and answers to them) if you posted an answer to the question yourself. This is particularly annoying if I post an elaborate answer to a question, which then gets deleted for no apparent reason (e.g., by a user misunderstanding the system). In this case, I have no easy means of salvaging my answer.

  • See deleted answers to your own question. If an answer gets deleted, this is usally for a good reason. But if you ask a question, it’s sometimes useful to have an overview of the whole story.

  • See any deleted posts on which you commented – for the general reasons described above.