Skip to main content

Show off the posts I'm most proud of

Give users a place on the profile1 (Profile rather than Activity; this is outward-facing) to collect, say, up to 10 posts that they're most proud of or otherwise want to show off. Sometimes your best work isn't high-scoring (maybe it's in an obscure, low-traffic tag), or maybe you just think everything clicked on that post and you want to show it off a little.

Ideally you would be able to click on an "add to my list" control next to any of your posts (with a warning if you're already at the max number). But if that's too hard, a place to paste in a URL to add it to the list would be ok. It'd be nice if you could change the order, but that's not critical; I'm imagining a list short enough to easily browse, after all.

This idea was inspired by the part of the Careers profile where you can advertise selected answers from across the network. (And I imagine reusing some code from there.) My proposal includes questions and not just answers, because a well-asked question can be a thing of beauty too. And my proposal is tied to a particular site, both selection and viewing; I see this being about "my best work here", not "my best work in a job hunt" or "my best work for all viewers in all contexts".

Yes, people can build this themselves, using the "projects" or "about me" areas, but this is meant to (a) make it easier and (b) plant the idea. (People can do this in other ways, but how many think to do it?)

1 Maybe by adding a "My Picks" tab to the "Top Posts" section (next to All, Questions, Answers, etc), like this but with actual graphic skillz:

profile page mockupMockup

This list you see now contains up to 10 items, which is why I propose up to 10 "picks". That would use the space already allocated to showing a selection of posts.

  

Show off the posts I'm most proud of

Give users a place on the profile1 (Profile rather than Activity; this is outward-facing) to collect, say, up to 10 posts that they're most proud of or otherwise want to show off. Sometimes your best work isn't high-scoring (maybe it's in an obscure, low-traffic tag), or maybe you just think everything clicked on that post and you want to show it off a little.

Ideally you would be able to click on an "add to my list" control next to any of your posts (with a warning if you're already at the max number). But if that's too hard, a place to paste in a URL to add it to the list would be ok. It'd be nice if you could change the order, but that's not critical; I'm imagining a list short enough to easily browse, after all.

This idea was inspired by the part of the Careers profile where you can advertise selected answers from across the network. (And I imagine reusing some code from there.) My proposal includes questions and not just answers, because a well-asked question can be a thing of beauty too. And my proposal is tied to a particular site, both selection and viewing; I see this being about "my best work here", not "my best work in a job hunt" or "my best work for all viewers in all contexts".

Yes, people can build this themselves, using the "projects" or "about me" areas, but this is meant to (a) make it easier and (b) plant the idea. (People can do this in other ways, but how many think to do it?)

1 Maybe by adding a "My Picks" tab to the "Top Posts" section (next to All, Questions, Answers, etc), like this but with actual graphic skillz:

profile page mockup

This list you see now contains up to 10 items, which is why I propose up to 10 "picks". That would use the space already allocated to showing a selection of posts.

 

Show off the posts I'm most proud of

Give users a place on the profile1 (Profile rather than Activity; this is outward-facing) to collect, say, up to 10 posts that they're most proud of or otherwise want to show off. Sometimes your best work isn't high-scoring (maybe it's in an obscure, low-traffic tag), or maybe you just think everything clicked on that post and you want to show it off a little.

Ideally you would be able to click on an "add to my list" control next to any of your posts (with a warning if you're already at the max number). But if that's too hard, a place to paste in a URL to add it to the list would be ok. It'd be nice if you could change the order, but that's not critical; I'm imagining a list short enough to easily browse, after all.

This idea was inspired by the part of the Careers profile where you can advertise selected answers from across the network. (And I imagine reusing some code from there.) My proposal includes questions and not just answers, because a well-asked question can be a thing of beauty too. And my proposal is tied to a particular site, both selection and viewing; I see this being about "my best work here", not "my best work in a job hunt" or "my best work for all viewers in all contexts".

Yes, people can build this themselves, using the "projects" or "about me" areas, but this is meant to (a) make it easier and (b) plant the idea. (People can do this in other ways, but how many think to do it?)

1 Maybe by adding a "My Picks" tab to the "Top Posts" section (next to All, Questions, Answers, etc), like this:

Mockup

This list you see now contains up to 10 items, which is why I propose up to 10 "picks". That would use the space already allocated to showing a selection of posts.

 
corrected label
Source Link
Monica Cellio
  • 182.8k
  • 66
  • 386
  • 696

Show off the posts I'm most proud of

Give users a place on the profile1 (Profile rather than Activity; this is outward-facing) to collect, say, up to 10 posts that they're most proud of or otherwise want to show off. Sometimes your best work isn't high-scoring (maybe it's in an obscure, low-traffic tag), or maybe you just think everything clicked on that post and you want to show it off a little.

Ideally you would be able to click on an "add to my list" control next to any of your posts (with a warning if you're already at the max number). But if that's too hard, a place to paste in a URL to add it to the list would be ok. It'd be nice if you could change the order, but that's not critical; I'm imagining a list short enough to easily browse, after all.

This idea was inspired by the part of the Careers profile where you can advertise selected answers from across the network. (And I imagine reusing some code from there.) My proposal includes questions and not just answers, because a well-asked question can be a thing of beauty too. And my proposal is tied to a particular site, both selection and viewing; I see this being about "my best work here", not "my best work in a job hunt" or "my best work for all viewers in all contexts".

Yes, people can build this themselves, using the "projects" or "about me" areas, but this is meant to (a) make it easier and (b) plant the idea. (People can do this in other ways, but how many think to do it?)

1 Maybe by adding a "My Picks" tab to the "Top Posts" section (next to All, Questions, Answers, etc), like this but with actual graphic skillz:

profile page mockupprofile page mockup

This list you see now contains up to 10 items, which is why I propose up to 10 "picks". That would use the space already allocated to showing a selection of posts.

Show off the posts I'm most proud of

Give users a place on the profile1 (Profile rather than Activity; this is outward-facing) to collect, say, up to 10 posts that they're most proud of or otherwise want to show off. Sometimes your best work isn't high-scoring (maybe it's in an obscure, low-traffic tag), or maybe you just think everything clicked on that post and you want to show it off a little.

Ideally you would be able to click on an "add to my list" control next to any of your posts (with a warning if you're already at the max number). But if that's too hard, a place to paste in a URL to add it to the list would be ok. It'd be nice if you could change the order, but that's not critical; I'm imagining a list short enough to easily browse, after all.

This idea was inspired by the part of the Careers profile where you can advertise selected answers from across the network. (And I imagine reusing some code from there.) My proposal includes questions and not just answers, because a well-asked question can be a thing of beauty too. And my proposal is tied to a particular site, both selection and viewing; I see this being about "my best work here", not "my best work in a job hunt" or "my best work for all viewers in all contexts".

Yes, people can build this themselves, using the "projects" or "about me" areas, but this is meant to (a) make it easier and (b) plant the idea. (People can do this in other ways, but how many think to do it?)

1 Maybe by adding a "My Picks" tab to the "Top Posts" section (next to All, Questions, Answers, etc), like this but with actual graphic skillz:

profile page mockup

This list you see now contains up to 10 items, which is why I propose up to 10 "picks". That would use the space already allocated to showing a selection of posts.

Show off the posts I'm most proud of

Give users a place on the profile1 (Profile rather than Activity; this is outward-facing) to collect, say, up to 10 posts that they're most proud of or otherwise want to show off. Sometimes your best work isn't high-scoring (maybe it's in an obscure, low-traffic tag), or maybe you just think everything clicked on that post and you want to show it off a little.

Ideally you would be able to click on an "add to my list" control next to any of your posts (with a warning if you're already at the max number). But if that's too hard, a place to paste in a URL to add it to the list would be ok. It'd be nice if you could change the order, but that's not critical; I'm imagining a list short enough to easily browse, after all.

This idea was inspired by the part of the Careers profile where you can advertise selected answers from across the network. (And I imagine reusing some code from there.) My proposal includes questions and not just answers, because a well-asked question can be a thing of beauty too. And my proposal is tied to a particular site, both selection and viewing; I see this being about "my best work here", not "my best work in a job hunt" or "my best work for all viewers in all contexts".

Yes, people can build this themselves, using the "projects" or "about me" areas, but this is meant to (a) make it easier and (b) plant the idea. (People can do this in other ways, but how many think to do it?)

1 Maybe by adding a "My Picks" tab to the "Top Posts" section (next to All, Questions, Answers, etc), like this but with actual graphic skillz:

profile page mockup

This list you see now contains up to 10 items, which is why I propose up to 10 "picks". That would use the space already allocated to showing a selection of posts.

added a mockup because comments
Source Link
Monica Cellio
  • 182.8k
  • 66
  • 386
  • 696

Show off the posts I'm most proud of

Give users a place on the profile1 (Profile rather than Activity; this is outward-facing) to collect, say, up to 10 posts that they're most proud of or otherwise want to show off. Sometimes your best work isn't high-scoring (maybe it's in an obscure, low-traffic tag), or maybe you just think everything clicked on that post and you want to show it off a little.

Ideally you would be able to click on an "add to my list" control next to any of your posts (with a warning if you're already at the max number). But if that's too hard, a place to paste in a URL to add it to the list would be ok. It'd be nice if you could change the order, but that's not critical; I'm imagining a list short enough to easily browse, after all.

This idea was inspired by the part of the Careers profile where you can advertise selected answers from across the network. (And I imagine reusing some code from there.) My proposal includes questions and not just answers, because a well-asked question can be a thing of beauty too. And my proposal is tied to a particular site, both selection and viewing; I see this being about "my best work here", not "my best work in a job hunt" or "my best work for all viewers in all contexts".

Yes, people can build this themselves, using the "projects" or "about me" areas, but this is meant to (a) make it easier and (b) plant the idea. (People can do this in other ways, but how many think to do it?)

1 Maybe by adding a "My Picks" tab to the "Top Posts" section (next to All, Questions, Answers, etc), like this but with actual graphic skillz:

profile page mockup

This list you see now contains up to 10 items, which is why I propose up to 10 "picks". That would use the space already allocated to showing a selection of posts.

Show off the posts I'm most proud of

Give users a place on the profile1 (Profile rather than Activity; this is outward-facing) to collect, say, up to 10 posts that they're most proud of or otherwise want to show off. Sometimes your best work isn't high-scoring (maybe it's in an obscure, low-traffic tag), or maybe you just think everything clicked on that post and you want to show it off a little.

Ideally you would be able to click on an "add to my list" control next to any of your posts (with a warning if you're already at the max number). But if that's too hard, a place to paste in a URL to add it to the list would be ok. It'd be nice if you could change the order, but that's not critical; I'm imagining a list short enough to easily browse, after all.

This idea was inspired by the part of the Careers profile where you can advertise selected answers from across the network. (And I imagine reusing some code from there.) My proposal includes questions and not just answers, because a well-asked question can be a thing of beauty too. And my proposal is tied to a particular site, both selection and viewing; I see this being about "my best work here", not "my best work in a job hunt" or "my best work for all viewers in all contexts".

Yes, people can build this themselves, using the "projects" or "about me" areas, but this is meant to (a) make it easier and (b) plant the idea. (People can do this in other ways, but how many think to do it?)

1 Maybe by adding a "My Picks" tab to the "Top Posts" section (next to All, Questions, Answers, etc).

Show off the posts I'm most proud of

Give users a place on the profile1 (Profile rather than Activity; this is outward-facing) to collect, say, up to 10 posts that they're most proud of or otherwise want to show off. Sometimes your best work isn't high-scoring (maybe it's in an obscure, low-traffic tag), or maybe you just think everything clicked on that post and you want to show it off a little.

Ideally you would be able to click on an "add to my list" control next to any of your posts (with a warning if you're already at the max number). But if that's too hard, a place to paste in a URL to add it to the list would be ok. It'd be nice if you could change the order, but that's not critical; I'm imagining a list short enough to easily browse, after all.

This idea was inspired by the part of the Careers profile where you can advertise selected answers from across the network. (And I imagine reusing some code from there.) My proposal includes questions and not just answers, because a well-asked question can be a thing of beauty too. And my proposal is tied to a particular site, both selection and viewing; I see this being about "my best work here", not "my best work in a job hunt" or "my best work for all viewers in all contexts".

Yes, people can build this themselves, using the "projects" or "about me" areas, but this is meant to (a) make it easier and (b) plant the idea. (People can do this in other ways, but how many think to do it?)

1 Maybe by adding a "My Picks" tab to the "Top Posts" section (next to All, Questions, Answers, etc), like this but with actual graphic skillz:

profile page mockup

This list you see now contains up to 10 items, which is why I propose up to 10 "picks". That would use the space already allocated to showing a selection of posts.

added 126 characters in body
Source Link
Monica Cellio
  • 182.8k
  • 66
  • 386
  • 696
Loading
Source Link
Monica Cellio
  • 182.8k
  • 66
  • 386
  • 696
Loading