Skip to main content
24 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Jul 16, 2019 at 3:05 comment added Stormblessed @JonEricson hi, is this being looked at now? It’s been a really long time.
Jan 3, 2019 at 3:26 comment added theforestecologist @JonEricson revisit this perhaps? :)
Dec 24, 2015 at 11:49 history edited wythagoras CC BY-SA 3.0
date is useful for documentation
Nov 12, 2015 at 20:32 comment added Monica Cellio @JonEricson thanks. I agree that hacking it in now when an upgrade later would let you do it right would not be a great idea.
Nov 12, 2015 at 20:25 comment added Jon Ericson Ah. I was ambiguous. If I understand the situation, mixing them so that comments turn up in a regular search would be easier. It's the very fact that we need to keep them somewhat separate that causes the problem. There are probably workarounds (I'm guessing a separate index for comments could be built and hacked in), but we'd prefer to wait for the upgrade that will support it properly.
Nov 12, 2015 at 20:01 comment added Monica Cellio @JonEricson re the decline -- bummer, but if the devs can't do it with the current architecture, I can't exactly ask them to make magic happen. :-) One question, though: were they looking at searching both posts and comments in a single search? That's not what I was asking for; I proposed searching only comments (instead of the default of searching only posts) if you use the enabling syntax. I suspect that mixing comments in with posts on general searches would be pretty noisy.
Nov 12, 2015 at 19:56 history edited Jon Ericson CC BY-SA 3.0
Checked with the developers. (Sorry.)
Oct 23, 2015 at 21:16 comment added Monica Cellio @JohEricson, if searching comments doesn't burden the site in some way, then I agree it would be useful to have for everybody.
Oct 23, 2015 at 20:26 history edited Jon Ericson CC BY-SA 3.0
Good idea. I'm not sure when I will be able to request this, but I've put it in our queue.
Jun 18, 2015 at 20:39 comment added Monica Cellio Thanks @TLama! This definitely helps with comments that are older than the time of the last data dump, which covers many of the cases.
Jun 18, 2015 at 20:38 comment added TLama I'm using this query. It's pretty clear how to change it to search not only comments of a particular user.
Jun 17, 2015 at 12:56 comment added Monica Cellio @ChrisW I didn't mean we should mix comments into search results willy-nilly; I agree that could add noise. I was thinking of a specific directive, e.g. is:comment, so you could search comments intentionally. I've edited that in.
Jun 17, 2015 at 12:55 history edited Monica Cellio CC BY-SA 3.0
added 229 characters in body
Jun 17, 2015 at 11:20 comment added ChrisW Comments often include (or are) links to other topics. If you search for keywords in a topic title with this feature enabled, the search results will include not just questions, but also answers (which is already more than you want) and furthermore comments too.
Apr 18, 2015 at 21:19 comment added corsair992 @Scimonster: Indexing the comments as well as the questions and answers should take up at most twice the space. Just like the argument for restricting vote counts, this is also a bad argument. Any such costs should be measured and considered in detail with a cost-benefit analysis, before using them as a vague argument for restricting all but the most essential features. I doubt it will be used that much anyway, if introduced as a separate feature from the general search.
Apr 18, 2015 at 20:51 comment added Scimonster @corsair992 Similar to view vote counts. It's just a lot of server strain if everyone gets to do it.
Apr 18, 2015 at 3:25 comment added corsair992 @MonicaCellio: Why should there be any reputation requirement at all on a simple functional non-harmful site feature?
Apr 17, 2015 at 23:07 comment added Monica Cellio @pacoverflow from the question: "I'm looking for unlockables that could be spread around reputation levels like tapas dishes." People seem to be assuming these would be 30k+, but it doesn't actually say that and I'm not assuming it in my answer.
Apr 17, 2015 at 18:12 comment added pacoverflow This is another one that shouldn't only be available to high-rep users. This should be available to all users.
Apr 17, 2015 at 3:59 history edited Monica Cellio CC BY-SA 3.0
added 46 characters in body
Apr 17, 2015 at 2:47 comment added Monica Cellio @tchrist they do? Hmm, I haven't had much luck with that. I'll take another look. (Still, if I could do it on-site, that'd be even better!)
Apr 17, 2015 at 2:44 comment added tchrist Google does index comments. I use it all the time for searching them.
Apr 17, 2015 at 2:41 comment added Taryn This would be helpful in so many ways.
Apr 17, 2015 at 2:36 history answered Monica Cellio CC BY-SA 3.0