Skip to main content
added 16 characters in body
Source Link
wythagoras
  • 9.3k
  • 33
  • 68

Oct. 23, 2015 (Jon Ericson)

Let me preface this by saying that I've never hit this limit myself. I have hit other rate limits that are annoying, so I'm imagining what it would be like to hit this limit fairly often. To be candid, I don't think chat moderation tools are ready to handle problems of annoying, but not exactly abusive behavior. Personally, I'd rather people post full thoughts in a single chat message and slow down a bit. I believe that's part of the reason for including this limit.


Reduced or removed rate limit in chat

We already trust anyone with enough reputation to chat to post two messages in succession. Nothing bad could come out of that. But allowing people to post three messages in a row? Three whole messages?! Just think of the unspeakable evil that could come out of that!!

In all seriousness, hitting the rate limit once every ten messages is extremely annoying, especially when I can hop over to, say, IRC, and post messages without restraint. We already have a flagging system, which should take care of cases of users abusing the system by posting many useless messages in a row. A gradually reducing rate limit as you gain rep wouldn't cause too much harm and would make many chatters' lives much, much less painful an- aaahugguhghghugh what do you MEAN I have to wait TEN MORE SECONDS just to finish a complete thought?!!!??!

(Jon Ericson)

Let me preface this by saying that I've never hit this limit myself. I have hit other rate limits that are annoying, so I'm imagining what it would be like to hit this limit fairly often. To be candid, I don't think chat moderation tools are ready to handle problems of annoying, but not exactly abusive behavior. Personally, I'd rather people post full thoughts in a single chat message and slow down a bit. I believe that's part of the reason for including this limit.


Reduced or removed rate limit in chat

We already trust anyone with enough reputation to chat to post two messages in succession. Nothing bad could come out of that. But allowing people to post three messages in a row? Three whole messages?! Just think of the unspeakable evil that could come out of that!!

In all seriousness, hitting the rate limit once every ten messages is extremely annoying, especially when I can hop over to, say, IRC, and post messages without restraint. We already have a flagging system, which should take care of cases of users abusing the system by posting many useless messages in a row. A gradually reducing rate limit as you gain rep wouldn't cause too much harm and would make many chatters' lives much, much less painful an- aaahugguhghghugh what do you MEAN I have to wait TEN MORE SECONDS just to finish a complete thought?!!!??!

Oct. 23, 2015 (Jon Ericson)

Let me preface this by saying that I've never hit this limit myself. I have hit other rate limits that are annoying, so I'm imagining what it would be like to hit this limit fairly often. To be candid, I don't think chat moderation tools are ready to handle problems of annoying, but not exactly abusive behavior. Personally, I'd rather people post full thoughts in a single chat message and slow down a bit. I believe that's part of the reason for including this limit.


Reduced or removed rate limit in chat

We already trust anyone with enough reputation to chat to post two messages in succession. Nothing bad could come out of that. But allowing people to post three messages in a row? Three whole messages?! Just think of the unspeakable evil that could come out of that!!

In all seriousness, hitting the rate limit once every ten messages is extremely annoying, especially when I can hop over to, say, IRC, and post messages without restraint. We already have a flagging system, which should take care of cases of users abusing the system by posting many useless messages in a row. A gradually reducing rate limit as you gain rep wouldn't cause too much harm and would make many chatters' lives much, much less painful an- aaahugguhghghugh what do you MEAN I have to wait TEN MORE SECONDS just to finish a complete thought?!!!??!

Thank you for the suggestion. I feel your pain. (Well not this particular pain, but something like it.) I'm afraid chat moderation can handle this. :-(
Source Link
Jon Ericson
  • 79.6k
  • 34
  • 244
  • 343

(Jon Ericson)

Let me preface this by saying that I've never hit this limit myself. I have hit other rate limits that are annoying, so I'm imagining what it would be like to hit this limit fairly often. To be candid, I don't think chat moderation tools are ready to handle problems of annoying, but not exactly abusive behavior. Personally, I'd rather people post full thoughts in a single chat message and slow down a bit. I believe that's part of the reason for including this limit.


Reduced or removed rate limit in chat

We already trust anyone with enough reputation to chat to post two messages in succession. Nothing bad could come out of that. But allowing people to post three messages in a row? Three whole messages?! Just think of the unspeakable evil that could come out of that!!

In all seriousness, hitting the rate limit once every ten messages is extremely annoying, especially when I can hop over to, say, IRC, and post messages without restraint. We already have a flagging system, which should take care of cases of users abusing the system by posting many useless messages in a row. A gradually reducing rate limit as you gain rep wouldn't cause too much harm and would make many chatters' lives much, much less painful an- aaahugguhghghugh what do you MEAN I have to wait TEN MORE SECONDS just to finish a complete thought?!!!??!

Reduced or removed rate limit in chat

We already trust anyone with enough reputation to chat to post two messages in succession. Nothing bad could come out of that. But allowing people to post three messages in a row? Three whole messages?! Just think of the unspeakable evil that could come out of that!!

In all seriousness, hitting the rate limit once every ten messages is extremely annoying, especially when I can hop over to, say, IRC, and post messages without restraint. We already have a flagging system, which should take care of cases of users abusing the system by posting many useless messages in a row. A gradually reducing rate limit as you gain rep wouldn't cause too much harm and would make many chatters' lives much, much less painful an- aaahugguhghghugh what do you MEAN I have to wait TEN MORE SECONDS just to finish a complete thought?!!!??!

(Jon Ericson)

Let me preface this by saying that I've never hit this limit myself. I have hit other rate limits that are annoying, so I'm imagining what it would be like to hit this limit fairly often. To be candid, I don't think chat moderation tools are ready to handle problems of annoying, but not exactly abusive behavior. Personally, I'd rather people post full thoughts in a single chat message and slow down a bit. I believe that's part of the reason for including this limit.


Reduced or removed rate limit in chat

We already trust anyone with enough reputation to chat to post two messages in succession. Nothing bad could come out of that. But allowing people to post three messages in a row? Three whole messages?! Just think of the unspeakable evil that could come out of that!!

In all seriousness, hitting the rate limit once every ten messages is extremely annoying, especially when I can hop over to, say, IRC, and post messages without restraint. We already have a flagging system, which should take care of cases of users abusing the system by posting many useless messages in a row. A gradually reducing rate limit as you gain rep wouldn't cause too much harm and would make many chatters' lives much, much less painful an- aaahugguhghghugh what do you MEAN I have to wait TEN MORE SECONDS just to finish a complete thought?!!!??!

Source Link
Doorknob
  • 45.5k
  • 15
  • 102
  • 196

Reduced or removed rate limit in chat

We already trust anyone with enough reputation to chat to post two messages in succession. Nothing bad could come out of that. But allowing people to post three messages in a row? Three whole messages?! Just think of the unspeakable evil that could come out of that!!

In all seriousness, hitting the rate limit once every ten messages is extremely annoying, especially when I can hop over to, say, IRC, and post messages without restraint. We already have a flagging system, which should take care of cases of users abusing the system by posting many useless messages in a row. A gradually reducing rate limit as you gain rep wouldn't cause too much harm and would make many chatters' lives much, much less painful an- aaahugguhghghugh what do you MEAN I have to wait TEN MORE SECONDS just to finish a complete thought?!!!??!