Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

6
  • 11
    How will your suggestion to do nothing for 30k and instead lump the good suggestions into 20k do anything to address the perceived issue of enthusiasm drop-off — you know, the very thing which adding bright shiny POWAHS at 30k was hoping to fix by motivating people to keep on playing when they’d previously run out of shinies at 10k or 20k?
    – tchrist
    Commented Apr 5, 2015 at 23:58
  • 9
    @tchrist Gamification for its own sake is misplaced.
    – user206222
    Commented Apr 6, 2015 at 0:09
  • 2
    @Emrakul It's not for its own sake when it comes with privileges deemed useful and which you would "lump into the 20k privileges" anyway. Commented Apr 6, 2015 at 0:28
  • 1
    @Christian I think my point may be unclear. I'm not saying "don't add privileges," I'm saying "don't make an arbitrary new tier for privileges; just add to the existing and entirely functional one."
    – user206222
    Commented Apr 6, 2015 at 0:30
  • 2
    @Emrakul I know. And I'm saying "add an arbitrary new tier, because it helps motivation while at the same time not being just for gamification alone". Commented Apr 6, 2015 at 0:32
  • 1
    Agreed. It is sort of demeaning to imagine users that would suddenly gain some new enthusiasm due to some minor toy they get at 30K. I recently reached 20K on SO, but I actually don't even know what new privileges I got and don't care about them. For many, I would guess participating in the site is an addictive behavior that is not really related to badges and awards and privileges.
    – user203905
    Commented Jul 12, 2015 at 21:13