Skip to main content
Commonmark migration
Source Link

##Comment on (recently) (self) deleted posts##

Comment on (recently) (self) deleted posts

I've occasionally had the situation where I'm trying to explain something to a new user about the site - new post review or just habitual refresh of the front page newest, or watching the chat room feed.

My comment is about how the question doesn't fit, or how it can be improved, or something of that sort. And I click 'Add Comment' and a red error box pops up that I can't comment on deleted or locked posts. I refresh the page... two down votes, a close vote, and yep, its got a pink background.

deleted by user54321 15 seconds ago

Well. Thats not useful at all. I am shut down on my attempt to try to help out the user. They don't have any other posts on the site and at this point the most I could do would be bother a mod to leave a comment there.

So, there's my proposal. For posts deleted less than ${some time} ago, let 30k users still make a comment on the post. This might be as little as an hour or as much as a day. Its meant to allow 30k users to provide guidance about the site to posts that have been recently deleted so that the user would have a better chance of having the next post be one that fits within the scope.

##Comment on (recently) (self) deleted posts##

I've occasionally had the situation where I'm trying to explain something to a new user about the site - new post review or just habitual refresh of the front page newest, or watching the chat room feed.

My comment is about how the question doesn't fit, or how it can be improved, or something of that sort. And I click 'Add Comment' and a red error box pops up that I can't comment on deleted or locked posts. I refresh the page... two down votes, a close vote, and yep, its got a pink background.

deleted by user54321 15 seconds ago

Well. Thats not useful at all. I am shut down on my attempt to try to help out the user. They don't have any other posts on the site and at this point the most I could do would be bother a mod to leave a comment there.

So, there's my proposal. For posts deleted less than ${some time} ago, let 30k users still make a comment on the post. This might be as little as an hour or as much as a day. Its meant to allow 30k users to provide guidance about the site to posts that have been recently deleted so that the user would have a better chance of having the next post be one that fits within the scope.

Comment on (recently) (self) deleted posts

I've occasionally had the situation where I'm trying to explain something to a new user about the site - new post review or just habitual refresh of the front page newest, or watching the chat room feed.

My comment is about how the question doesn't fit, or how it can be improved, or something of that sort. And I click 'Add Comment' and a red error box pops up that I can't comment on deleted or locked posts. I refresh the page... two down votes, a close vote, and yep, its got a pink background.

deleted by user54321 15 seconds ago

Well. Thats not useful at all. I am shut down on my attempt to try to help out the user. They don't have any other posts on the site and at this point the most I could do would be bother a mod to leave a comment there.

So, there's my proposal. For posts deleted less than ${some time} ago, let 30k users still make a comment on the post. This might be as little as an hour or as much as a day. Its meant to allow 30k users to provide guidance about the site to posts that have been recently deleted so that the user would have a better chance of having the next post be one that fits within the scope.

Source Link
user213963
user213963

##Comment on (recently) (self) deleted posts##

I've occasionally had the situation where I'm trying to explain something to a new user about the site - new post review or just habitual refresh of the front page newest, or watching the chat room feed.

My comment is about how the question doesn't fit, or how it can be improved, or something of that sort. And I click 'Add Comment' and a red error box pops up that I can't comment on deleted or locked posts. I refresh the page... two down votes, a close vote, and yep, its got a pink background.

deleted by user54321 15 seconds ago

Well. Thats not useful at all. I am shut down on my attempt to try to help out the user. They don't have any other posts on the site and at this point the most I could do would be bother a mod to leave a comment there.

So, there's my proposal. For posts deleted less than ${some time} ago, let 30k users still make a comment on the post. This might be as little as an hour or as much as a day. Its meant to allow 30k users to provide guidance about the site to posts that have been recently deleted so that the user would have a better chance of having the next post be one that fits within the scope.