Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

6
  • 5
    With a ping, same as for moderator comments posted within an hour of deletion. (I would make the limit an hour, same as that case.) Commented Apr 5, 2015 at 4:09
  • 30
    I think this can be added for 10k or 20k privilege, with Monica's restriction. I think there is no reason this should be 30k.
    – nhahtdh
    Commented Apr 5, 2015 at 7:04
  • 2
    I'd want this for any deleted post, but it's a good start.
    – user1228
    Commented Apr 6, 2015 at 17:52
  • @Won't it could be read as "Comment on deleted posts" or "Comment on self deleted posts" or "Comment on recently deleted posts" or "Comment on recently self deleted posts" - any of those variations. Just a question of how restrictive to make it.
    – user213963
    Commented Apr 6, 2015 at 18:09
  • 2
    Alternatively, make it easy to open a chat with that user.
    – Bergi
    Commented Jun 16, 2015 at 20:01
  • 8
    I've had a few (admittedly rare, but significant enough to stick in my memory) instances where user A posts a question, and user B, who doesn't see the merit of the question, posts a comment that leads A to frustratedly delete the question while I'm still writing my answer. It's always bugged me that in this situation, SO's policy of not being able to contact users out of the blue prevents me from communicating with A or B about the matter.
    – hobbs
    Commented Jul 9, 2015 at 6:22