Skip to main content
Notice removed Draw attention by auden
Bounty Ended with enderland's answer chosen by auden
Notice added Draw attention by auden
Bounty Started worth 50 reputation by auden
Notice removed Draw attention by CommunityBot
Bounty Ended with no winning answer by CommunityBot
Notice added Draw attention by CRABOLO
Bounty Started worth 50 reputation by CRABOLO
added 23 characters in body
Source Link
Pekka
  • 114.2k
  • 70
  • 387
  • 639

Unfriendly comments, although often understandable, are still a major blight on Stack Overflow, making the community look super rude and unfriendly. I don't know what the numbers are like (perhaps the "summer of love" helped somewhat) but I still frequently see comments that would turn me off visiting the place if I were an outsider.

Would creating a review queue specifically for flagged comments - or perhaps a subset of flags, like "not constructive" and "rude or offensive" - make sense?

There is some potential for abuse, of course, seeing as sometimes even 2 votes can annihilate a comment. Perhaps this queue should not count towards any badges.

Unfriendly comments, although often understandable, are still a major blight on Stack Overflow, making the community look super rude and unfriendly. I don't know what the numbers are like (perhaps the "summer of love" helped somewhat) but I still frequently see comments that would turn me off visiting the place if I were an outsider.

Would creating a review queue specifically for flagged comments - or perhaps a subset of flags, like "rude or offensive" - make sense?

There is some potential for abuse, of course, seeing as sometimes even 2 votes can annihilate a comment. Perhaps this queue should not count towards any badges.

Unfriendly comments, although often understandable, are still a major blight on Stack Overflow, making the community look super rude and unfriendly. I don't know what the numbers are like (perhaps the "summer of love" helped somewhat) but I still frequently see comments that would turn me off visiting the place if I were an outsider.

Would creating a review queue specifically for flagged comments - or perhaps a subset of flags, like "not constructive" and "rude or offensive" - make sense?

There is some potential for abuse, of course, seeing as sometimes even 2 votes can annihilate a comment. Perhaps this queue should not count towards any badges.

Source Link
Pekka
  • 114.2k
  • 70
  • 387
  • 639

Create "flagged comments" review queue

Unfriendly comments, although often understandable, are still a major blight on Stack Overflow, making the community look super rude and unfriendly. I don't know what the numbers are like (perhaps the "summer of love" helped somewhat) but I still frequently see comments that would turn me off visiting the place if I were an outsider.

Would creating a review queue specifically for flagged comments - or perhaps a subset of flags, like "rude or offensive" - make sense?

There is some potential for abuse, of course, seeing as sometimes even 2 votes can annihilate a comment. Perhaps this queue should not count towards any badges.