Skip to main content
Commonmark migration
Source Link

As a mod, more automatic deleting greatly lessens two of my biggest concerns as a mod:

###Getting rid of crap

Getting rid of crap

Having closed, clearly low quality content on the front page is embarrassing. So is having it on the first page of /questions. But when do I manually delete it? A day is too soon. After two days I'm likely to forget. But at the moment, that crap's unlikely to be automatically deleted unless it's answerless, downvoted and closed. Closed I can almost always count on, downvoted, usually, answerless not as often. But the 30 day wait is killer.

Having the community do deletions

###Having the community do deletions ThisThis is practically impossible on certain early-mid beta sites or recently graduated sites where there just aren't many users with the delete privilege. I feel like I should let the community make these decisions moreso than me, but it just...doesn't happen. Sometimes it can't happen. But if we don't require high levels of coordination between vanishingly rare top-rep-tier users, this problem goes away.

I'd feel a lot better knowing this junk will, for the most part, handle itself. There's clear paths to keeping the content as well (just edit/fix/reopen/upvote it) so I'm not concerned with the baby being thrown out with the bathwater. At least not a baby no one upvoted, who wants that baby. No one.

Now aside from that, I have one concern: I'm not sure an accepted, unupvoted answer should keep a post around. Off topic questions often get an off topic but correct answer or a "you actually answered my question! I give you this checkmark" accept. Keeping those around doesn't help anyone and it only takes the OP to prevent a deletion. In my opinion, someone else should have to indicate that the answer is useful before we start keeping around the question forever.

As a mod, more automatic deleting greatly lessens two of my biggest concerns as a mod:

###Getting rid of crap

Having closed, clearly low quality content on the front page is embarrassing. So is having it on the first page of /questions. But when do I manually delete it? A day is too soon. After two days I'm likely to forget. But at the moment, that crap's unlikely to be automatically deleted unless it's answerless, downvoted and closed. Closed I can almost always count on, downvoted, usually, answerless not as often. But the 30 day wait is killer.

###Having the community do deletions This is practically impossible on certain early-mid beta sites or recently graduated sites where there just aren't many users with the delete privilege. I feel like I should let the community make these decisions moreso than me, but it just...doesn't happen. Sometimes it can't happen. But if we don't require high levels of coordination between vanishingly rare top-rep-tier users, this problem goes away.

I'd feel a lot better knowing this junk will, for the most part, handle itself. There's clear paths to keeping the content as well (just edit/fix/reopen/upvote it) so I'm not concerned with the baby being thrown out with the bathwater. At least not a baby no one upvoted, who wants that baby. No one.

Now aside from that, I have one concern: I'm not sure an accepted, unupvoted answer should keep a post around. Off topic questions often get an off topic but correct answer or a "you actually answered my question! I give you this checkmark" accept. Keeping those around doesn't help anyone and it only takes the OP to prevent a deletion. In my opinion, someone else should have to indicate that the answer is useful before we start keeping around the question forever.

As a mod, more automatic deleting greatly lessens two of my biggest concerns as a mod:

Getting rid of crap

Having closed, clearly low quality content on the front page is embarrassing. So is having it on the first page of /questions. But when do I manually delete it? A day is too soon. After two days I'm likely to forget. But at the moment, that crap's unlikely to be automatically deleted unless it's answerless, downvoted and closed. Closed I can almost always count on, downvoted, usually, answerless not as often. But the 30 day wait is killer.

Having the community do deletions

This is practically impossible on certain early-mid beta sites or recently graduated sites where there just aren't many users with the delete privilege. I feel like I should let the community make these decisions moreso than me, but it just...doesn't happen. Sometimes it can't happen. But if we don't require high levels of coordination between vanishingly rare top-rep-tier users, this problem goes away.

I'd feel a lot better knowing this junk will, for the most part, handle itself. There's clear paths to keeping the content as well (just edit/fix/reopen/upvote it) so I'm not concerned with the baby being thrown out with the bathwater. At least not a baby no one upvoted, who wants that baby. No one.

Now aside from that, I have one concern: I'm not sure an accepted, unupvoted answer should keep a post around. Off topic questions often get an off topic but correct answer or a "you actually answered my question! I give you this checkmark" accept. Keeping those around doesn't help anyone and it only takes the OP to prevent a deletion. In my opinion, someone else should have to indicate that the answer is useful before we start keeping around the question forever.

Source Link
Zelda
  • 33k
  • 7
  • 84
  • 159

As a mod, more automatic deleting greatly lessens two of my biggest concerns as a mod:

###Getting rid of crap

Having closed, clearly low quality content on the front page is embarrassing. So is having it on the first page of /questions. But when do I manually delete it? A day is too soon. After two days I'm likely to forget. But at the moment, that crap's unlikely to be automatically deleted unless it's answerless, downvoted and closed. Closed I can almost always count on, downvoted, usually, answerless not as often. But the 30 day wait is killer.

###Having the community do deletions This is practically impossible on certain early-mid beta sites or recently graduated sites where there just aren't many users with the delete privilege. I feel like I should let the community make these decisions moreso than me, but it just...doesn't happen. Sometimes it can't happen. But if we don't require high levels of coordination between vanishingly rare top-rep-tier users, this problem goes away.

I'd feel a lot better knowing this junk will, for the most part, handle itself. There's clear paths to keeping the content as well (just edit/fix/reopen/upvote it) so I'm not concerned with the baby being thrown out with the bathwater. At least not a baby no one upvoted, who wants that baby. No one.

Now aside from that, I have one concern: I'm not sure an accepted, unupvoted answer should keep a post around. Off topic questions often get an off topic but correct answer or a "you actually answered my question! I give you this checkmark" accept. Keeping those around doesn't help anyone and it only takes the OP to prevent a deletion. In my opinion, someone else should have to indicate that the answer is useful before we start keeping around the question forever.