Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

10
  • 9
    Footnote: This is bizarre enough that I half considered some kind of bug being at play, but that didn't make any more sense than the user doing it.
    – user50049
    Commented Feb 3, 2013 at 15:20
  • 2
    Thanks, but I don't believe it was a coincidence that he did it shortly after accept rate was removed from display. Isn't there a way to contact that user in private, as moderator? Commented Feb 3, 2013 at 15:21
  • 4
    @ShaWizDowArd I considered it, but the user didn't do anything wrong, all I could do is politely ask as to the motivation. I've brought it up with the rest of the mod team and some of the comm team, I'm still scratching my head here. Additionally, it's not like I can even share their reasoning if I did, the conversation is private. If they want to make it known, they'd have to do it themselves.
    – user50049
    Commented Feb 3, 2013 at 15:23
  • 15
    I still think such action is harmful to the community and to the contents. See your point point though so guess we'll have to accept it (pun intended :)) for now and just keep an eye on that user. Commented Feb 3, 2013 at 15:30
  • 1
    @ShaWizDowArd It's definitely not something I personally feel we should not be letting someone do, I've raised it internally as I mentioned and I'm still digging to see if I can make better sense out of it. But, I'm privy to things I can't really share, so I also can't really share theories based on that information either. I appreciate your <badpun>acceptance</badpun> of my position :P I will chase this down though.
    – user50049
    Commented Feb 3, 2013 at 15:35
  • 16
    He even unaccepted a few self-accepted answers, which makes it even stranger. See: stackoverflow.com/users/492258/… Commented Feb 3, 2013 at 16:09
  • 2
    Some content was defaced recently: he deleted his top 5 unaccepted answers about a week before the unaccepts. I have reversed that though, just in case. Commented Feb 3, 2013 at 16:39
  • 18
    Yeah, people do strange things sometimes. I wouldn't read to much into this.
    – Shog9
    Commented Feb 3, 2013 at 17:00
  • Worth to mention he's always active e.g. now I see last active "hour ago" on his profile. However can't see any activity, hopefully he's not deleting any other stuff. Commented Feb 3, 2013 at 20:29
  • 1
    Data gathering: What happens when a user quits and removes all his votes?. The user wants to quit and unaccepted a series of answers (but not all, and they also reversed some of the unaccepts). Commented Aug 28, 2014 at 13:06