Skip to main content
added 290 characters in body
Source Link
Mad Scientist
  • 187.1k
  • 74
  • 358
  • 668

My solution to prevent this would be to only allow switching the acceptance to a different answer, and not removing it entirely after a certain time.

Being able to change the accepted answer even after a long time is important, but I don't see a realistic use case for unaccepting an answer completely after a few months or so.

If you find an error much later, you could still work around this by posting your corrected solution as an answer and self-accept that one.

I'm not yet convinced that this is a problem that happens often enough to warrant such a solution, this is the only case I heard about so for.

My solution to prevent this would be to only allow switching the acceptance to a different answer, and not removing it entirely after a certain time.

Being able to change the accepted answer even after a long time is important, but I don't see a realistic use case for unaccepting an answer completely after a few months or so.

My solution to prevent this would be to only allow switching the acceptance to a different answer, and not removing it entirely after a certain time.

Being able to change the accepted answer even after a long time is important, but I don't see a realistic use case for unaccepting an answer completely after a few months or so.

If you find an error much later, you could still work around this by posting your corrected solution as an answer and self-accept that one.

I'm not yet convinced that this is a problem that happens often enough to warrant such a solution, this is the only case I heard about so for.

Source Link
Mad Scientist
  • 187.1k
  • 74
  • 358
  • 668

My solution to prevent this would be to only allow switching the acceptance to a different answer, and not removing it entirely after a certain time.

Being able to change the accepted answer even after a long time is important, but I don't see a realistic use case for unaccepting an answer completely after a few months or so.