Skip to main content
Removed meta information. Formatting, etc.
Source Link

I have only been directed to this thread this morning. Before reading this I had no idea what "acceptance rate" meant - I had assumed that StackOverflowStack Overflow was telling me how many of my answers had been accepted by others,others; I had no idea it meant how many questions I had accepted answers to.

So when someone asked "Why the low acceptance rate" on one of my questions I had no idea what they were talking about. If they had not done so I would still be in the dark.

But there is a really simply solution!

When someone starts to ask a new question, if their acceptance rate is below X% have the website show a red warning message above the Title input which states:

Warning: You have accepted answers to only Y% of your questions, this may deter people from offering answers.

Warning: You have accepted answers to only Y% of your questions, this may deter people from offering answers.

Mock up

I have only been directed to this thread this morning. Before reading this I had no idea what "acceptance rate" meant - I had assumed that StackOverflow was telling me how many of my answers had been accepted by others, I had no idea it meant how many questions I had accepted answers to.

So when someone asked "Why the low acceptance rate" on one of my questions I had no idea what they were talking about. If they had not done so I would still be in the dark.

But there is a really simply solution!

When someone starts to ask a new question, if their acceptance rate is below X% have the website show a red warning message above the Title input which states

Warning: You have accepted answers to only Y% of your questions, this may deter people from offering answers.

Mock up

Before reading this I had no idea what "acceptance rate" meant - I had assumed that Stack Overflow was telling me how many of my answers had been accepted by others; I had no idea it meant how many questions I had accepted answers to.

So when someone asked "Why the low acceptance rate" on one of my questions I had no idea what they were talking about. If they had not done so I would still be in the dark.

But there is a really simply solution!

When someone starts to ask a new question, if their acceptance rate is below X% have the website show a red warning message above the Title input which states:

Warning: You have accepted answers to only Y% of your questions, this may deter people from offering answers.

Mock up

Source Link

I have only been directed to this thread this morning. Before reading this I had no idea what "acceptance rate" meant - I had assumed that StackOverflow was telling me how many of my answers had been accepted by others, I had no idea it meant how many questions I had accepted answers to.

So when someone asked "Why the low acceptance rate" on one of my questions I had no idea what they were talking about. If they had not done so I would still be in the dark.

But there is a really simply solution!

When someone starts to ask a new question, if their acceptance rate is below X% have the website show a red warning message above the Title input which states

Warning: You have accepted answers to only Y% of your questions, this may deter people from offering answers.

Mock up