Skip to main content
spelling
Source Link
Kevin
  • 10.2k
  • 3
  • 38
  • 63

Why is everyone saying that bad things can't appear in notifications?

I'll give you tootwo scenarios:

  1. I am a vandal. I make spam edits on a load of tag wikis. The edits get rejected and I get told why. I would ignore them. This scenario is null. Nothing would change either way.

  2. (This recently happened to me) I am a good faith editor. I edit, but do something wrong (provide too simple info or something). I get told what is wrong, so I change my behavior and all is good. This is the real thing. Without the warnings, the editor would get blocked, becuasebecause he does not know what he is doing wrong, and would naivelynaïvely carry on. With the warnings, he can become a better editor.

How can these notifications do any harm? All they will do is stop users like me getting blocked when they were editing in good faith.

Why is everyone saying that bad things can't appear in notifications?

I'll give you too scenarios:

  1. I am a vandal. I make spam edits on a load of tag wikis. The edits get rejected and I get told why. I would ignore them. This scenario is null. Nothing would change either way.

  2. (This recently happened to me) I am a good faith editor. I edit, but do something wrong (provide too simple info or something). I get told what is wrong, so I change my behavior and all is good. This is the real thing. Without the warnings, the editor would get blocked, becuase he does not know what he is doing wrong, and would naively carry on. With the warnings, he can become a better editor.

How can these notifications do any harm? All they will do is stop users like me getting blocked when they were editing in good faith.

Why is everyone saying that bad things can't appear in notifications?

I'll give you two scenarios:

  1. I am a vandal. I make spam edits on a load of tag wikis. The edits get rejected and I get told why. I would ignore them. This scenario is null. Nothing would change either way.

  2. (This recently happened to me) I am a good faith editor. I edit, but do something wrong (provide too simple info or something). I get told what is wrong, so I change my behavior and all is good. This is the real thing. Without the warnings, the editor would get blocked, because he does not know what he is doing wrong, and would naïvely carry on. With the warnings, he can become a better editor.

How can these notifications do any harm? All they will do is stop users like me getting blocked when they were editing in good faith.

Source Link
ACarter
  • 727
  • 5
  • 10

Why is everyone saying that bad things can't appear in notifications?

I'll give you too scenarios:

  1. I am a vandal. I make spam edits on a load of tag wikis. The edits get rejected and I get told why. I would ignore them. This scenario is null. Nothing would change either way.

  2. (This recently happened to me) I am a good faith editor. I edit, but do something wrong (provide too simple info or something). I get told what is wrong, so I change my behavior and all is good. This is the real thing. Without the warnings, the editor would get blocked, becuase he does not know what he is doing wrong, and would naively carry on. With the warnings, he can become a better editor.

How can these notifications do any harm? All they will do is stop users like me getting blocked when they were editing in good faith.