Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

6
  • 10
    Precisely my point. Thank you. Users edit because they want to do something good to the site – and you need some kind of feedback when you're on the way.
    – slhck
    Commented Jun 22, 2012 at 20:17
  • 5
    Totally. I recently got blocked when I didn't know what I was doing wrong, and all that block has done is mean that some of my knowledge and willingness-to-help is not transferred to the site.
    – ACarter
    Commented Jun 22, 2012 at 20:18
  • Another alternative would be changing the edit limit for tag wikis
    – ACarter
    Commented Jun 23, 2012 at 10:23
  • ACarter - See this answer and this answer. This feature can definitely be implemented without using notifications, which have been designed to be for positive, "atta-boy" type information. I especially like Shog9's answer because he addresses the problem when it matters most, right before the editor attempts to make another potentially bad edit. In both of those scenarios, the editor would not get blocked. And if that person doesn't read the information, notifications won't matter either.
    – jmort253
    Commented Jun 25, 2012 at 14:16
  • 2
    @jmort, If I had got the notifications, I would not have been blocked. Having the notice above the editor is probably a better idea, but as long as the editor finds out and does not get blocked, it doesn't matter a great deal. (I have also upvoted both those answers.)
    – ACarter
    Commented Jun 25, 2012 at 16:38
  • 1
    We need for a notification. Any time I make an edit, answer, etc. it is for the purpose of providing useful information for everyone, not for myself. If it is rejected, I need to know it happened in order to correct the information so I can repost it in a better way. Simply losing the info forever with no notification is ridiculous. No responsible contributor would be okay with simply losing their info they provided without having the immediate opportunity to fix their edit, i.e., notification. Such people could optionally turn off a notification I guess.
    – mattgately
    Commented Dec 2, 2016 at 16:25