Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

21
  • So how can we balance that and keep a metric that has usefulness? Mods like having an instant glance of "this is a low-rep user who doesn't accept, and has a lot of questions, they need more guidance on how to use the network" and accept-rate is one of those metrics.
    – jcolebrand
    Commented Jun 20, 2012 at 19:15
  • 2
    @jcolebrand I'm not sure. Maybe make it visible to higher-rep users who are (in theory!) more responsible and won't use it as a big stick? Commented Jun 20, 2012 at 19:17
  • In what situation is it appropriate to make a judgment based solely on the accept rate? If you're supposed to go through the user's profile and evaluate them (which I disagree with as well), then how is the accept rate useful? It's just a shortcut to treating people poorly.
    – user154510
    Commented Jun 20, 2012 at 19:20
  • 1
    I didn't say it was a sole metric of usefulness, only a guiding number to show further insight into a user's practice. Removing it from the usercard and showing it on the user profile to mods and self makes sense.
    – jcolebrand
    Commented Jun 20, 2012 at 19:21
  • 10
    @MatthewRead I never said it was; I believe I said the opposite. I think letting users not play the "SO game" diminishes what SO is--my opinion. I use the accept rate as a cue to look at their questions; perhaps they can be improved if they're not being answered, perhaps they're OT, who knows. I use it as a way to see if a user might be struggling to use SO in the way I believe it's meant to be used. Commented Jun 20, 2012 at 19:23
  • 1
    Comparing the number of people I've seen abusing others over the accept rate to those taking it as an opportunity to help, the former wins handily. The accept rate is a bright, colorful and in-your-face; people will make judgments based solely on it. I don't believe the benefits are worth the costs.
    – user154510
    Commented Jun 20, 2012 at 19:42
  • 9
    @MatthewRead Define "abuse". I don't have an issue with people being reminded that SO is a collaborative effort and that askers, in addition to asking quality question, should reward those who attempt to help. Downvoting based on a low accept rate? That's abuse, and I don't know how you'd have evidence of that. What metrics are you using to quantify abuse, and what's your definition? Commented Jun 20, 2012 at 19:48
  • 1
    I am not at all arguing against "the game". My suggestion for a gentile reminder behind the scenes should illustrate that. I just think there is a significant difference between such a reminder and a public notice which essentially states "Here people, look at this, he's not playing the game!!"
    – Bart
    Commented Jun 20, 2012 at 20:00
  • 2
    @MatthewRead (a) I don't have to be qualified by your standards to answer the question, (b) I've answered what, a thousand or two questions and have enough rep to have seen most behavior on SO anyway, and (c) you didn't address what you mean by "abuse", what "gentle" means, etc. I've rarely seen anything so out-of-line I've felt moved to comment on it-YMMV. Questioning my "qualifications", or assuming there are any, is a canard. Commented Jun 20, 2012 at 21:33
  • 1
    "That's solidly douche territory" - Name calling, really? That's what we're doing now? Commented Jun 21, 2012 at 5:11
  • 3
    Fortunately (and equally unfortunately) you're one of the few people that use the metric for it's designed purpose. The problem we're facing is nasty comments based completely on that value and people that could answer questions moving on to something where an answer promises 215 instead of 200 reputation points as the ultimate prize. I have no problem with the 'moving on' part, I do take issue with pressure to do things that might not be in the best interest of future visitors and needless work placed on moderators.
    – user50049
    Commented Jun 27, 2012 at 17:02
  • 2
    @TimPost Yeah, I recognize I'm likely in the minority :/ Commented Jun 27, 2012 at 17:30
  • 3
    I'm with you, @DaveNewton. I can't believe this is even a question. I'm so disappointed with this decision. Someone who never (or rarely) accepts an answer is discourteous. It's not about points. It's about saying "thank you".
    – Seth J
    Commented Jan 23, 2013 at 14:07
  • 2
    @TimPost, if people are being nasty, punish them. Dock points from their profiles or suspend them. But don't remove a feature that helps others know if they are providing aid to someone who really doesn't care and isn't courteous.
    – Seth J
    Commented Jan 23, 2013 at 14:09
  • 2
    I'm a little late to the show here, but I'm disappointed to see the accept rate gone. I've never flamed a user for not accepting an answer, but I would use it sometimes to determine whether to try and answer a question. If it is a low complexity question that I know off the top of my head I will answer no matter the accept rate. If it takes a higher level of time investment on my part to determine an answer I will choose to invest that time on a question that has a better chance of paying me back.
    – bigtunacan
    Commented Jun 13, 2013 at 14:06