Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

8
  • 2
    I like this, but the problem (to me) is that they've left the accept rate visible to all, saying a better solution is needed before removing it. IMO the public accept rate needs to die, immediately, regardless of what else they decide to do. No more dithering about other solutions, that should be a separate concern. Again, just IMO :P
    – user154510
    Commented Jun 20, 2012 at 19:19
  • Yes, hence "only show it to the OP" because "that drives up the accept rate" but "don't show it to the public" because "it's not a good metric". Which part are we disagreeing on Matthew?
    – jcolebrand
    Commented Jun 20, 2012 at 19:20
  • I don't think we're disagreeing, I just want this to be a "separate request" rather than an "alternate request". I don't want the devs to see this feature request and dither about alternatives instead of whacking the public accept rate ASAP. (Not that I get to determine what they or you do, but I hope you get what I mean.)
    – user154510
    Commented Jun 20, 2012 at 19:25
  • 3
    I see what you're getting at. I just see the process as "let me offer another solution instead of yours but keep the discussion inline" rather than "let me open a whole other Q and you go over there and vote on it" on account of the whole discussion thing. But I agree, the devs should consider this a contrasting feature implementation request from the one asked above, yes?
    – jcolebrand
    Commented Jun 20, 2012 at 19:26
  • 22
    They can show it to mods, or mods + 20k users, without showing everyone. The 20k users are supposed to be helping new users and shaping the community properly anyways.
    – jcolebrand
    Commented Jun 20, 2012 at 19:27
  • 2
    This is actually an interesting option. As long as the rate is gone from public view, I have no objection to having it visible to each user personally.
    – Bart
    Commented Jun 20, 2012 at 20:05
  • 8
    I've got no problem with this as long as the tardy users are slapped with a wet fish when their accept rate drops too low. Nobody likes the fix your accept rate comments, but we also don't like lazy leeches who don't do the right thing on the site.
    – slugster
    Commented Jun 21, 2012 at 7:18
  • 2
    Being the Summer of Love this definitely should be removed to decrease the level of snarkiness in the comments.
    – Taryn
    Commented Jul 24, 2012 at 21:15