Skip to main content
Used the official name of Stack Exchange - see section "Proper Use of the Stack Overflow and Stack Exchange Name" in http://stackoverflow.com/legal/trademark-guidance (the last section).
Source Link

The new notification system has successfully reduced the amount of noise from items that are not actionable, such as privilege changes, badge awards, and so forth. These notifications appear in the top left menu, not just for one site, but for every site on the network. As a result, notifications are less noisy but more visible, since StackExchangeStack Exchange can push notifications to me for Site A even though I am on Site B.

Problems with using notifications:

Adding suggested edit results to this notification box creates two problems:

  • It significantly increases the amount of noise based on the number of rejected edits.
  • It doesn't match Jeff's goal of not saying "YOU SUCK" in the notification section.

While we definitely want to help people improve their edits, we don't want to change the positive tone of the notifications system. Right now, StackExchangeStack Exchange only sends positive reinforcing messages that are intended to increase the frequency of a specific set of behaviors, and we should ensure that it stays that way.

In other words, even though these notifications aren't as "loud", we still don't want them to have negative connotations.

Use "Helpful Flags" as a template:

With that said, let's use the helpful flags statistics as a template for how to approach this problem. When I flag a post, I'm never told how much I suck because I flagged a post incorrectly. However, at a glance, my profile does show how helpful I've been. If I click on the helpful flag value, I see a list of all of my flags, as well as the detailed results.

If a flag is declined. I see the message from the moderator explaining why. Again, this information is never pushed and is something I must explicitly look for.

If we take this same approach with suggested edits, we have something similar to what appears in this User Profile mockup. See the "Stats" section at the bottom of the User Information section:

User Profile Helpful Edits:

User Profile with Suggested Edit stats

In this example, there are 19 helpful edits which the community approved. Again, the information is positive and reinforcing.

If I click on the helpful edit value, I'm taken to a helpful edits detail page. This page resembles the helpful flag detail page. On this page, I see every edit I've made, in chronological order, and the results of each suggested edit. See attached mockup for a visual representation of what this feature would look like:

Proposed Helpful Edits Detail Page:

Helplful Edits Detail Page

In this detail page, I can review my suggested edits and take action in my next set of edits to ensure they're most helpful. In this example, one of my edits was rejected because I only tried editing the tags and nothing else. It was rejected for being too minor and because there is an "edit tags" link that I can use to change the tag, assuming I have enough reputation to do so.

In summary, this solution balances positive, reinforcing messages with low notification noise while still making it easy for a user to review his or her suggested edit history.

The new notification system has successfully reduced the amount of noise from items that are not actionable, such as privilege changes, badge awards, and so forth. These notifications appear in the top left menu, not just for one site, but for every site on the network. As a result, notifications are less noisy but more visible, since StackExchange can push notifications to me for Site A even though I am on Site B.

Problems with using notifications:

Adding suggested edit results to this notification box creates two problems:

  • It significantly increases the amount of noise based on the number of rejected edits.
  • It doesn't match Jeff's goal of not saying "YOU SUCK" in the notification section.

While we definitely want to help people improve their edits, we don't want to change the positive tone of the notifications system. Right now, StackExchange only sends positive reinforcing messages that are intended to increase the frequency of a specific set of behaviors, and we should ensure that it stays that way.

In other words, even though these notifications aren't as "loud", we still don't want them to have negative connotations.

Use "Helpful Flags" as a template:

With that said, let's use the helpful flags statistics as a template for how to approach this problem. When I flag a post, I'm never told how much I suck because I flagged a post incorrectly. However, at a glance, my profile does show how helpful I've been. If I click on the helpful flag value, I see a list of all of my flags, as well as the detailed results.

If a flag is declined. I see the message from the moderator explaining why. Again, this information is never pushed and is something I must explicitly look for.

If we take this same approach with suggested edits, we have something similar to what appears in this User Profile mockup. See the "Stats" section at the bottom of the User Information section:

User Profile Helpful Edits:

User Profile with Suggested Edit stats

In this example, there are 19 helpful edits which the community approved. Again, the information is positive and reinforcing.

If I click on the helpful edit value, I'm taken to a helpful edits detail page. This page resembles the helpful flag detail page. On this page, I see every edit I've made, in chronological order, and the results of each suggested edit. See attached mockup for a visual representation of what this feature would look like:

Proposed Helpful Edits Detail Page:

Helplful Edits Detail Page

In this detail page, I can review my suggested edits and take action in my next set of edits to ensure they're most helpful. In this example, one of my edits was rejected because I only tried editing the tags and nothing else. It was rejected for being too minor and because there is an "edit tags" link that I can use to change the tag, assuming I have enough reputation to do so.

In summary, this solution balances positive, reinforcing messages with low notification noise while still making it easy for a user to review his or her suggested edit history.

The new notification system has successfully reduced the amount of noise from items that are not actionable, such as privilege changes, badge awards, and so forth. These notifications appear in the top left menu, not just for one site, but for every site on the network. As a result, notifications are less noisy but more visible, since Stack Exchange can push notifications to me for Site A even though I am on Site B.

Problems with using notifications:

Adding suggested edit results to this notification box creates two problems:

  • It significantly increases the amount of noise based on the number of rejected edits.
  • It doesn't match Jeff's goal of not saying "YOU SUCK" in the notification section.

While we definitely want to help people improve their edits, we don't want to change the positive tone of the notifications system. Right now, Stack Exchange only sends positive reinforcing messages that are intended to increase the frequency of a specific set of behaviors, and we should ensure that it stays that way.

In other words, even though these notifications aren't as "loud", we still don't want them to have negative connotations.

Use "Helpful Flags" as a template:

With that said, let's use the helpful flags statistics as a template for how to approach this problem. When I flag a post, I'm never told how much I suck because I flagged a post incorrectly. However, at a glance, my profile does show how helpful I've been. If I click on the helpful flag value, I see a list of all of my flags, as well as the detailed results.

If a flag is declined. I see the message from the moderator explaining why. Again, this information is never pushed and is something I must explicitly look for.

If we take this same approach with suggested edits, we have something similar to what appears in this User Profile mockup. See the "Stats" section at the bottom of the User Information section:

User Profile Helpful Edits:

User Profile with Suggested Edit stats

In this example, there are 19 helpful edits which the community approved. Again, the information is positive and reinforcing.

If I click on the helpful edit value, I'm taken to a helpful edits detail page. This page resembles the helpful flag detail page. On this page, I see every edit I've made, in chronological order, and the results of each suggested edit. See attached mockup for a visual representation of what this feature would look like:

Proposed Helpful Edits Detail Page:

Helplful Edits Detail Page

In this detail page, I can review my suggested edits and take action in my next set of edits to ensure they're most helpful. In this example, one of my edits was rejected because I only tried editing the tags and nothing else. It was rejected for being too minor and because there is an "edit tags" link that I can use to change the tag, assuming I have enough reputation to do so.

In summary, this solution balances positive, reinforcing messages with low notification noise while still making it easy for a user to review his or her suggested edit history.

added headings
Source Link
jmort253
  • 31.9k
  • 8
  • 82
  • 137

The new notification system has successfully reduced the amount of noise from items that are not actionable, such as privilege changes, badge awards, and so forth. These notifications appear in the top left menu, not just for one site, but for every site on the network. As a result, notifications are less noisy but more visible, since StackExchange can push notifications to me for Site A even though I am on Site B.

Problems with using notifications:

Adding suggested edit results to this notification box creates two problems:

  • It significantly increases the amount of noise based on the number of rejected edits.
  • It doesn't match Jeff's goal of not saying "YOU SUCK" in the notification section.

While we definitely want to help people improve their edits, we don't want to change the positive tone of the notifications system. Right now, StackExchange only sends positive reinforcing messages that are intended to increase the frequency of a specific set of behaviors, and we should ensure that it stays that way.

In other words, even though these notifications aren't as "loud", we still don't want them to have negative connotations.

Use "Helpful Flags" as a template:

With that said, let's use the helpful flags statistics as a template for how to approach this problem. When I flag a post, I'm never told how much I suck because I flagged a post incorrectly. However, at a glance, my profile does show how helpful I've been. If I click on the helpful flag value, I see a list of all of my flags, as well as the detailed results.

If a flag is declined. I see the message from the moderator explaining why. Again, this information is never pushed and is something I must explicitly look for.

If we take this same approach with suggested edits, we have something similar to what appears in this User Profile mockup. See the "Stats" section at the bottom of the User Information section:

User Profile Helpful Edits:

User Profile with Suggested Edit stats

In this example, there are 19 helpful edits which the community approved. Again, the information is positive and reinforcing.

If I click on the helpful edit value, I'm taken to a helpful edits detail page. This page resembles the helpful flag detail page. On this page, I see every edit I've made, in chronological order, and the results of each suggested edit. See attached mockup for a visual representation of what this feature would look like:

Proposed Helpful Edits Detail Page:

Helplful Edits Detail Page

In this detail page, I can review my suggested edits and take action in my next set of edits to ensure they're most helpful. In this example, one of my edits was rejected because I only tried editing the tags and nothing else. It was rejected for being too minor and because there is an "edit tags" link that I can use to change the tag, assuming I have enough reputation to do so.

In summary, this solution balances positive, reinforcing messages with low notification noise while still making it easy for a user to review his or her suggested edit history.

The new notification system has successfully reduced the amount of noise from items that are not actionable, such as privilege changes, badge awards, and so forth. These notifications appear in the top left menu, not just for one site, but for every site on the network. As a result, notifications are less noisy but more visible, since StackExchange can push notifications to me for Site A even though I am on Site B.

Adding suggested edit results to this notification box creates two problems:

  • It significantly increases the amount of noise based on the number of rejected edits.
  • It doesn't match Jeff's goal of not saying "YOU SUCK" in the notification section.

While we definitely want to help people improve their edits, we don't want to change the positive tone of the notifications system. Right now, StackExchange only sends positive reinforcing messages that are intended to increase the frequency of a specific set of behaviors, and we should ensure that it stays that way.

With that said, let's use the helpful flags statistics as a template for how to approach this problem. When I flag a post, I'm never told how much I suck because I flagged a post incorrectly. However, at a glance, my profile does show how helpful I've been. If I click on the helpful flag value, I see a list of all of my flags, as well as the detailed results.

If a flag is declined. I see the message from the moderator explaining why. Again, this information is never pushed and is something I must explicitly look for.

If we take this same approach with suggested edits, we have something similar to what appears in this User Profile mockup. See the "Stats" section at the bottom of the User Information section:

User Profile with Suggested Edit stats

In this example, there are 19 helpful edits which the community approved. Again, the information is positive and reinforcing.

If I click on the helpful edit value, I'm taken to a helpful edits detail page. This page resembles the helpful flag detail page. On this page, I see every edit I've made, in chronological order, and the results of each suggested edit. See attached mockup for a visual representation of what this feature would look like:

Helplful Edits Detail Page

In this detail page, I can review my suggested edits and take action in my next set of edits to ensure they're most helpful. In this example, one of my edits was rejected because I only tried editing the tags and nothing else. It was rejected for being too minor and because there is an "edit tags" link that I can use to change the tag, assuming I have enough reputation to do so.

In summary, this solution balances positive, reinforcing messages with low notification noise while still making it easy for a user to review his or her suggested edit history.

The new notification system has successfully reduced the amount of noise from items that are not actionable, such as privilege changes, badge awards, and so forth. These notifications appear in the top left menu, not just for one site, but for every site on the network. As a result, notifications are less noisy but more visible, since StackExchange can push notifications to me for Site A even though I am on Site B.

Problems with using notifications:

Adding suggested edit results to this notification box creates two problems:

  • It significantly increases the amount of noise based on the number of rejected edits.
  • It doesn't match Jeff's goal of not saying "YOU SUCK" in the notification section.

While we definitely want to help people improve their edits, we don't want to change the positive tone of the notifications system. Right now, StackExchange only sends positive reinforcing messages that are intended to increase the frequency of a specific set of behaviors, and we should ensure that it stays that way.

In other words, even though these notifications aren't as "loud", we still don't want them to have negative connotations.

Use "Helpful Flags" as a template:

With that said, let's use the helpful flags statistics as a template for how to approach this problem. When I flag a post, I'm never told how much I suck because I flagged a post incorrectly. However, at a glance, my profile does show how helpful I've been. If I click on the helpful flag value, I see a list of all of my flags, as well as the detailed results.

If a flag is declined. I see the message from the moderator explaining why. Again, this information is never pushed and is something I must explicitly look for.

If we take this same approach with suggested edits, we have something similar to what appears in this User Profile mockup. See the "Stats" section at the bottom of the User Information section:

User Profile Helpful Edits:

User Profile with Suggested Edit stats

In this example, there are 19 helpful edits which the community approved. Again, the information is positive and reinforcing.

If I click on the helpful edit value, I'm taken to a helpful edits detail page. This page resembles the helpful flag detail page. On this page, I see every edit I've made, in chronological order, and the results of each suggested edit. See attached mockup for a visual representation of what this feature would look like:

Proposed Helpful Edits Detail Page:

Helplful Edits Detail Page

In this detail page, I can review my suggested edits and take action in my next set of edits to ensure they're most helpful. In this example, one of my edits was rejected because I only tried editing the tags and nothing else. It was rejected for being too minor and because there is an "edit tags" link that I can use to change the tag, assuming I have enough reputation to do so.

In summary, this solution balances positive, reinforcing messages with low notification noise while still making it easy for a user to review his or her suggested edit history.

Source Link
jmort253
  • 31.9k
  • 8
  • 82
  • 137

The new notification system has successfully reduced the amount of noise from items that are not actionable, such as privilege changes, badge awards, and so forth. These notifications appear in the top left menu, not just for one site, but for every site on the network. As a result, notifications are less noisy but more visible, since StackExchange can push notifications to me for Site A even though I am on Site B.

Adding suggested edit results to this notification box creates two problems:

  • It significantly increases the amount of noise based on the number of rejected edits.
  • It doesn't match Jeff's goal of not saying "YOU SUCK" in the notification section.

While we definitely want to help people improve their edits, we don't want to change the positive tone of the notifications system. Right now, StackExchange only sends positive reinforcing messages that are intended to increase the frequency of a specific set of behaviors, and we should ensure that it stays that way.

With that said, let's use the helpful flags statistics as a template for how to approach this problem. When I flag a post, I'm never told how much I suck because I flagged a post incorrectly. However, at a glance, my profile does show how helpful I've been. If I click on the helpful flag value, I see a list of all of my flags, as well as the detailed results.

If a flag is declined. I see the message from the moderator explaining why. Again, this information is never pushed and is something I must explicitly look for.

If we take this same approach with suggested edits, we have something similar to what appears in this User Profile mockup. See the "Stats" section at the bottom of the User Information section:

User Profile with Suggested Edit stats

In this example, there are 19 helpful edits which the community approved. Again, the information is positive and reinforcing.

If I click on the helpful edit value, I'm taken to a helpful edits detail page. This page resembles the helpful flag detail page. On this page, I see every edit I've made, in chronological order, and the results of each suggested edit. See attached mockup for a visual representation of what this feature would look like:

Helplful Edits Detail Page

In this detail page, I can review my suggested edits and take action in my next set of edits to ensure they're most helpful. In this example, one of my edits was rejected because I only tried editing the tags and nothing else. It was rejected for being too minor and because there is an "edit tags" link that I can use to change the tag, assuming I have enough reputation to do so.

In summary, this solution balances positive, reinforcing messages with low notification noise while still making it easy for a user to review his or her suggested edit history.