Skip to main content
added 239 characters in body; added 2 characters in body
Source Link

Note: If you're looking for a simple explanation as to why comments aren't required on downvotes, see Why isn't it required to provide comments/feedback for downvotes, and why are proposals suggesting this so negatively received?.

I used to get "upset" (though that is too strong a term) when I got downvoted without comment. If my answer isn't good enough then I'd like to know why. Not only does it improve the answer for the OP but it improves my knowledge too.

Where the down-vote has been explained I've found it useful & it has improved my answer, or forced me to delete the answer if it was totally wrong.

So is there any way we can encourage people to leave a comment? Perhaps they don't lose rep if they explain their down-vote?

I must admit though that I haven't always explained my down-vote either so you could call me a hypocrite. I've also grown a thicker skin over the months of using SO (it seems to have come with the higher rep score ;-)), so I'm less bothered about this now.

I used to get "upset" (though that is too strong a term) when I got downvoted without comment. If my answer isn't good enough then I'd like to know why. Not only does it improve the answer for the OP but it improves my knowledge too.

Where the down-vote has been explained I've found it useful & it has improved my answer, or forced me to delete the answer if it was totally wrong.

So is there any way we can encourage people to leave a comment? Perhaps they don't lose rep if they explain their down-vote?

I must admit though that I haven't always explained my down-vote either so you could call me a hypocrite. I've also grown a thicker skin over the months of using SO (it seems to have come with the higher rep score ;-)), so I'm less bothered about this now.

Note: If you're looking for a simple explanation as to why comments aren't required on downvotes, see Why isn't it required to provide comments/feedback for downvotes, and why are proposals suggesting this so negatively received?.

I used to get "upset" (though that is too strong a term) when I got downvoted without comment. If my answer isn't good enough then I'd like to know why. Not only does it improve the answer for the OP but it improves my knowledge too.

Where the down-vote has been explained I've found it useful & it has improved my answer, or forced me to delete the answer if it was totally wrong.

So is there any way we can encourage people to leave a comment? Perhaps they don't lose rep if they explain their down-vote?

I must admit though that I haven't always explained my down-vote either so you could call me a hypocrite. I've also grown a thicker skin over the months of using SO (it seems to have come with the higher rep score ;-)), so I'm less bothered about this now.

Rollback to Revision 15
Source Link
ChrisF Mod
  • 100.5k
  • 32
  • 257
  • 471

I used to get "upset" (though that is too strong a term) when I got downvoted without a comment. If my answer isn't good enough, then I'd like to know why. Not only does it improve the answer for the OP but it improves my knowledge, too.

WhenWhere the downvotedown-vote has been explained, I've found it useful and& it has improved my answer, or forced me to delete the answer if it was totally wrong.

So, is there any way we can encourage people to leave a comment? Perhaps they don't lose rep if they explain their downvotedown-vote?

I must admit, though, that I haven't always explained my downvote,down-vote either, so you could call me a hypocrite. I've also grown a thicker skin over the months of using SO (it seems to have come with the higher rep score ;-)), so I'm less bothered about this now.

I used to get "upset" (though that is too strong a term) when I got downvoted without a comment. If my answer isn't good enough, then I'd like to know why. Not only does it improve the answer for the OP but it improves my knowledge, too.

When the downvote has been explained, I've found it useful and it has improved my answer, or forced me to delete the answer if it was totally wrong.

So, is there any way we can encourage people to leave a comment? Perhaps they don't lose rep if they explain their downvote?

I must admit, though, that I haven't always explained my downvote, either, so you could call me a hypocrite. I've also grown a thicker skin over the months of using SO (it seems to have come with the higher rep score ;-)), so I'm less bothered about this now.

I used to get "upset" (though that is too strong a term) when I got downvoted without comment. If my answer isn't good enough then I'd like to know why. Not only does it improve the answer for the OP but it improves my knowledge too.

Where the down-vote has been explained I've found it useful & it has improved my answer, or forced me to delete the answer if it was totally wrong.

So is there any way we can encourage people to leave a comment? Perhaps they don't lose rep if they explain their down-vote?

I must admit though that I haven't always explained my down-vote either so you could call me a hypocrite. I've also grown a thicker skin over the months of using SO (it seems to have come with the higher rep score ;-)), so I'm less bothered about this now.

Grammar edits; edited 'down-vote' to 'downvote' for consistency with the title
Source Link
0xCursor
  • 167
  • 10

I used to get "upset" (though that is too strong a term) when I got downvoted without a comment. If my answer isn't good enough, then I'd like to know why. Not only does it improve the answer for the OP but it improves my knowledge, too.

WhereWhen the down-votedownvote has been explained, I've found it useful &and it has improved my answer, or forced me to delete the answer if it was totally wrong.

So, is there any way we can encourage people to leave a comment? Perhaps they don't lose rep if they explain their down-votedownvote?

I must admit, though, that I haven't always explained my down-votedownvote, either, so you could call me a hypocrite. I've also grown a thicker skin over the months of using SO (it seems to have come with the higher rep score ;-)), so I'm less bothered about this now.

I used to get "upset" (though that is too strong a term) when I got downvoted without comment. If my answer isn't good enough then I'd like to know why. Not only does it improve the answer for the OP but it improves my knowledge too.

Where the down-vote has been explained I've found it useful & it has improved my answer, or forced me to delete the answer if it was totally wrong.

So is there any way we can encourage people to leave a comment? Perhaps they don't lose rep if they explain their down-vote?

I must admit though that I haven't always explained my down-vote either so you could call me a hypocrite. I've also grown a thicker skin over the months of using SO (it seems to have come with the higher rep score ;-)), so I'm less bothered about this now.

I used to get "upset" (though that is too strong a term) when I got downvoted without a comment. If my answer isn't good enough, then I'd like to know why. Not only does it improve the answer for the OP but it improves my knowledge, too.

When the downvote has been explained, I've found it useful and it has improved my answer, or forced me to delete the answer if it was totally wrong.

So, is there any way we can encourage people to leave a comment? Perhaps they don't lose rep if they explain their downvote?

I must admit, though, that I haven't always explained my downvote, either, so you could call me a hypocrite. I've also grown a thicker skin over the months of using SO (it seems to have come with the higher rep score ;-)), so I'm less bothered about this now.

Closing comment about uservoice seems irrelevant
Source Link
PolyGeo
  • 35.7k
  • 5
  • 69
  • 150
Loading
Rollback to Revision 12
Link
user102937
user102937
Loading
This was never a feature-request - simply a discussion.
Link
ᔕᖺᘎᕊ
  • 19.3k
  • 3
  • 61
  • 97
Loading
Rollback to Revision 10
Link
Lance Roberts
  • 83.4k
  • 20
  • 187
  • 317
Loading
edited tags
Link
Doorknob
  • 45.5k
  • 15
  • 102
  • 196
Loading
edited tags
Link
Lance Roberts
  • 83.4k
  • 20
  • 187
  • 317
Loading
We don't normally use dashes in "downvote" and including them messes up searching for this question.
Source Link
Adam Lear StaffMod
  • 159.8k
  • 45
  • 499
  • 687
Loading
Question Protected by random
Post Made Community Wiki by user102937
deleted 2 characters in body; edited tags
Source Link
Michael Mrozek
  • 65.8k
  • 17
  • 143
  • 250
Loading
Clarification and expansion
Source Link
ChrisF Mod
  • 100.5k
  • 32
  • 257
  • 471
Loading
edited tags
Link
Joel Coehoorn
  • 40.4k
  • 21
  • 111
  • 177
Loading
edited tags
Link
Jeff Atwood
  • 310.6k
  • 107
  • 888
  • 1.2k
Loading
Gah I really can't spell
Link
ChrisF Mod
  • 100.5k
  • 32
  • 257
  • 471
Loading
typo in title
Link
ChrisF Mod
  • 100.5k
  • 32
  • 257
  • 471
Loading
Edited for grammar
Source Link
ChrisF Mod
  • 100.5k
  • 32
  • 257
  • 471
Loading
Source Link
ChrisF Mod
  • 100.5k
  • 32
  • 257
  • 471
Loading