Skip to main content
replaced http://meta.stackexchange.com/ with https://meta.stackexchange.com/
Source Link

I think it's important to show this feedback not only to users who are suggesting edits, but also to reviewers who are approving and rejecting them.

At the same time, I agree with Jeff that the banner system is for "wow, you're awesome" messages only.

In regards to the feedback, if I were spending my valuable time suggesting edits, only to find out weeks or months later that they all were rejected because I was doing something wrong that I actually thought was helpful, I would surely want to know. While I agree with Jeff in that we don't want to flash banners, there should in fact be a very easy-to-get-to method of seeing the results of suggested edits and reviews, similar to how I can see why a flag may have been declined by a moderator.

Not making this information easily available shows disrespect to the people trying to help in assuming that we'll be offended by being shown or guided into doing it the right way.

Perhaps a modified version of Chris Frederick's suggestionChris Frederick's suggestion where I click a "suggested edit results" section, similar to the "review" section. This wouldn't be mixed in with my normal question, answer, comment activity, but it would be available for me to review should I feel the need to.

As for reviewers, when I first started reviewing edits, I was approving tag edits, not realizing users without full edit privileges could simply click a "retag" link that disappears once you get full edit permissions at 2000 reputation. I later learned in a meta post that this was incorrect and that I should have rejected those edits. Meanwhile, I thought the people rejecting those edits were being ridiculous because I had no way to tell why they chose to reject.

Today, I see some rejections for edits that should not be rejected, perhaps due to the same ignorance now experienced by another new reviewer.

With the current system, it's not possible to help guide these users, both the ones making the edits and the ones approving and rejecting. I am for giving the feedback to those users who are interested and simply making it available for the ones who simply make suggestions without caring about the result.

I think it's important to show this feedback not only to users who are suggesting edits, but also to reviewers who are approving and rejecting them.

At the same time, I agree with Jeff that the banner system is for "wow, you're awesome" messages only.

In regards to the feedback, if I were spending my valuable time suggesting edits, only to find out weeks or months later that they all were rejected because I was doing something wrong that I actually thought was helpful, I would surely want to know. While I agree with Jeff in that we don't want to flash banners, there should in fact be a very easy-to-get-to method of seeing the results of suggested edits and reviews, similar to how I can see why a flag may have been declined by a moderator.

Not making this information easily available shows disrespect to the people trying to help in assuming that we'll be offended by being shown or guided into doing it the right way.

Perhaps a modified version of Chris Frederick's suggestion where I click a "suggested edit results" section, similar to the "review" section. This wouldn't be mixed in with my normal question, answer, comment activity, but it would be available for me to review should I feel the need to.

As for reviewers, when I first started reviewing edits, I was approving tag edits, not realizing users without full edit privileges could simply click a "retag" link that disappears once you get full edit permissions at 2000 reputation. I later learned in a meta post that this was incorrect and that I should have rejected those edits. Meanwhile, I thought the people rejecting those edits were being ridiculous because I had no way to tell why they chose to reject.

Today, I see some rejections for edits that should not be rejected, perhaps due to the same ignorance now experienced by another new reviewer.

With the current system, it's not possible to help guide these users, both the ones making the edits and the ones approving and rejecting. I am for giving the feedback to those users who are interested and simply making it available for the ones who simply make suggestions without caring about the result.

I think it's important to show this feedback not only to users who are suggesting edits, but also to reviewers who are approving and rejecting them.

At the same time, I agree with Jeff that the banner system is for "wow, you're awesome" messages only.

In regards to the feedback, if I were spending my valuable time suggesting edits, only to find out weeks or months later that they all were rejected because I was doing something wrong that I actually thought was helpful, I would surely want to know. While I agree with Jeff in that we don't want to flash banners, there should in fact be a very easy-to-get-to method of seeing the results of suggested edits and reviews, similar to how I can see why a flag may have been declined by a moderator.

Not making this information easily available shows disrespect to the people trying to help in assuming that we'll be offended by being shown or guided into doing it the right way.

Perhaps a modified version of Chris Frederick's suggestion where I click a "suggested edit results" section, similar to the "review" section. This wouldn't be mixed in with my normal question, answer, comment activity, but it would be available for me to review should I feel the need to.

As for reviewers, when I first started reviewing edits, I was approving tag edits, not realizing users without full edit privileges could simply click a "retag" link that disappears once you get full edit permissions at 2000 reputation. I later learned in a meta post that this was incorrect and that I should have rejected those edits. Meanwhile, I thought the people rejecting those edits were being ridiculous because I had no way to tell why they chose to reject.

Today, I see some rejections for edits that should not be rejected, perhaps due to the same ignorance now experienced by another new reviewer.

With the current system, it's not possible to help guide these users, both the ones making the edits and the ones approving and rejecting. I am for giving the feedback to those users who are interested and simply making it available for the ones who simply make suggestions without caring about the result.

Migration of MSO links to MSE links
Source Link

I think it's important to show this feedback not only to users who are suggesting edits, but also to reviewers who are approving and rejecting them.

At the same time, I agree with Jeff that the banner system is for "wow, you're awesome" messages only.

In regards to the feedback, if I were spending my valuable time suggesting edits, only to find out weeks or months later that they all were rejected because I was doing something wrong that I actually thought was helpful, I would surely want to know. While I agree with Jeff in that we don't want to flash banners, there should in fact be a very easy-to-get-to method of seeing the results of suggested edits and reviews, similar to how I can see why a flag may have been declined by a moderator.

Not making this information easily available shows disrespect to the people trying to help in assuming that we'll be offended by being shown or guided into doing it the right way.

Perhaps a modified version of Chris Frederick's suggestionChris Frederick's suggestion where I click a "suggested edit results" section, similar to the "review" section. This wouldn't be mixed in with my normal question, answer, comment activity, but it would be available for me to review should I feel the need to.

As for reviewers, when I first started reviewing edits, I was approving tag edits, not realizing users without full edit privileges could simply click a "retag" link that disappears once you get full edit permissions at 2000 reputation. I later learned in a meta post that this was incorrect and that I should have rejected those edits. Meanwhile, I thought the people rejecting those edits were being ridiculous because I had no way to tell why they chose to reject.

Today, I see some rejections for edits that should not be rejected, perhaps due to the same ignorance now experienced by another new reviewer.

With the current system, it's not possible to help guide these users, both the ones making the edits and the ones approving and rejecting. I am for giving the feedback to those users who are interested and simply making it available for the ones who simply make suggestions without caring about the result.

I think it's important to show this feedback not only to users who are suggesting edits, but also to reviewers who are approving and rejecting them.

At the same time, I agree with Jeff that the banner system is for "wow, you're awesome" messages only.

In regards to the feedback, if I were spending my valuable time suggesting edits, only to find out weeks or months later that they all were rejected because I was doing something wrong that I actually thought was helpful, I would surely want to know. While I agree with Jeff in that we don't want to flash banners, there should in fact be a very easy-to-get-to method of seeing the results of suggested edits and reviews, similar to how I can see why a flag may have been declined by a moderator.

Not making this information easily available shows disrespect to the people trying to help in assuming that we'll be offended by being shown or guided into doing it the right way.

Perhaps a modified version of Chris Frederick's suggestion where I click a "suggested edit results" section, similar to the "review" section. This wouldn't be mixed in with my normal question, answer, comment activity, but it would be available for me to review should I feel the need to.

As for reviewers, when I first started reviewing edits, I was approving tag edits, not realizing users without full edit privileges could simply click a "retag" link that disappears once you get full edit permissions at 2000 reputation. I later learned in a meta post that this was incorrect and that I should have rejected those edits. Meanwhile, I thought the people rejecting those edits were being ridiculous because I had no way to tell why they chose to reject.

Today, I see some rejections for edits that should not be rejected, perhaps due to the same ignorance now experienced by another new reviewer.

With the current system, it's not possible to help guide these users, both the ones making the edits and the ones approving and rejecting. I am for giving the feedback to those users who are interested and simply making it available for the ones who simply make suggestions without caring about the result.

I think it's important to show this feedback not only to users who are suggesting edits, but also to reviewers who are approving and rejecting them.

At the same time, I agree with Jeff that the banner system is for "wow, you're awesome" messages only.

In regards to the feedback, if I were spending my valuable time suggesting edits, only to find out weeks or months later that they all were rejected because I was doing something wrong that I actually thought was helpful, I would surely want to know. While I agree with Jeff in that we don't want to flash banners, there should in fact be a very easy-to-get-to method of seeing the results of suggested edits and reviews, similar to how I can see why a flag may have been declined by a moderator.

Not making this information easily available shows disrespect to the people trying to help in assuming that we'll be offended by being shown or guided into doing it the right way.

Perhaps a modified version of Chris Frederick's suggestion where I click a "suggested edit results" section, similar to the "review" section. This wouldn't be mixed in with my normal question, answer, comment activity, but it would be available for me to review should I feel the need to.

As for reviewers, when I first started reviewing edits, I was approving tag edits, not realizing users without full edit privileges could simply click a "retag" link that disappears once you get full edit permissions at 2000 reputation. I later learned in a meta post that this was incorrect and that I should have rejected those edits. Meanwhile, I thought the people rejecting those edits were being ridiculous because I had no way to tell why they chose to reject.

Today, I see some rejections for edits that should not be rejected, perhaps due to the same ignorance now experienced by another new reviewer.

With the current system, it's not possible to help guide these users, both the ones making the edits and the ones approving and rejecting. I am for giving the feedback to those users who are interested and simply making it available for the ones who simply make suggestions without caring about the result.

Source Link
jmort253
  • 31.9k
  • 8
  • 82
  • 137

I think it's important to show this feedback not only to users who are suggesting edits, but also to reviewers who are approving and rejecting them.

At the same time, I agree with Jeff that the banner system is for "wow, you're awesome" messages only.

In regards to the feedback, if I were spending my valuable time suggesting edits, only to find out weeks or months later that they all were rejected because I was doing something wrong that I actually thought was helpful, I would surely want to know. While I agree with Jeff in that we don't want to flash banners, there should in fact be a very easy-to-get-to method of seeing the results of suggested edits and reviews, similar to how I can see why a flag may have been declined by a moderator.

Not making this information easily available shows disrespect to the people trying to help in assuming that we'll be offended by being shown or guided into doing it the right way.

Perhaps a modified version of Chris Frederick's suggestion where I click a "suggested edit results" section, similar to the "review" section. This wouldn't be mixed in with my normal question, answer, comment activity, but it would be available for me to review should I feel the need to.

As for reviewers, when I first started reviewing edits, I was approving tag edits, not realizing users without full edit privileges could simply click a "retag" link that disappears once you get full edit permissions at 2000 reputation. I later learned in a meta post that this was incorrect and that I should have rejected those edits. Meanwhile, I thought the people rejecting those edits were being ridiculous because I had no way to tell why they chose to reject.

Today, I see some rejections for edits that should not be rejected, perhaps due to the same ignorance now experienced by another new reviewer.

With the current system, it's not possible to help guide these users, both the ones making the edits and the ones approving and rejecting. I am for giving the feedback to those users who are interested and simply making it available for the ones who simply make suggestions without caring about the result.