Skip to main content
19 events
when toggle format what by license comment
May 23, 2017 at 12:37 history edited CommunityBot
replaced http://stackoverflow.com/ with https://stackoverflow.com/
Apr 13, 2017 at 12:47 history edited CommunityBot
replaced http://dsp.stackexchange.com/ with https://dsp.stackexchange.com/
Mar 20, 2017 at 10:31 history edited CommunityBot
replaced http://meta.stackexchange.com/ with https://meta.stackexchange.com/
Apr 23, 2014 at 14:05 history edited CommunityBot
Migration of MSO links to MSE links
Apr 23, 2012 at 5:59 comment added Charles Menguy I agree with @karlphillip that votes should be reset when moving a question to another site. As should badges, I got several badges on DSP in the short time the question was moved there... Don't take it personally, you're most certainly more knowledgeable than me in OpenCV, I never expected so many upvotes on this question, I'd be happy to be off the top list or whatever it is if that's what you want, I'm honestly not here to be on top of some list, and I don't think that's the finality of being on SO but I respect your point of view.
Apr 23, 2012 at 4:54 history edited CommunityBot
insert duplicate link
Apr 23, 2012 at 4:54 history closed user159834
Manishearth
yannis
Mad Scientist
Jeff Atwood
exact duplicate
Apr 23, 2012 at 4:50 comment added karlphillip As somebody pointed in a answer below, it seems that the question was originally asked in stackoverflow, then moved to DSP, then back here, then the bounty was set up, etc. People seem to be stuck in the case I described, but it was only meant to be an example of something that happens daily. I continue to think that votes should be reset when moving posts between StackExchange sites.
Apr 23, 2012 at 4:45 comment added dmckee --- ex-moderator kitten This is more often a problem when migrating from Stack Overflow, because the large user base inflates votes number to a degree that they are misleading on new Stack Exchange site.
Apr 23, 2012 at 4:19 comment added karlphillip @WesleyMurch Thanks for pointing it as a possible duplicate. I up voted the original question. Mine should be closed.
Apr 23, 2012 at 4:18 comment added karlphillip @WesleyMurch Now you know there isn't.
Apr 23, 2012 at 4:16 comment added user159834 @karlphillip: I actually agree with you, but there's something about the way you authored your post that makes it seem more like jealousy than genuine concern for the greater good.
Apr 23, 2012 at 4:14 comment added karlphillip @WesleyMurch About my motives being personal, I can't see a way in which upvotes in OpenCV threatens my work at all in this forum, I just don't think it is fair to the other users who spend years struggling to achieve that position. You would be surprised the amount of people that contact me via email every month because of my name in the Top Answerers list. Rest assure that people do watch it. And yes, I agree with you that the OP of that question is milking it.
Apr 23, 2012 at 4:11 comment added user159834 @Manishearth: Yes, the idea makes sense because it warps the vote counts on smaller sites, but in this case the votes came from SO (where the question remains). And now I see there is a fresh bounty - so I can't help but think the OP of the question in question is also milking it.
Apr 23, 2012 at 4:08 comment added Manishearth @WesleyMurch: Exactly. I would have supported this if the motive was different. (see bottom of my post below)
Apr 23, 2012 at 4:08 comment added user159834 I feel like the motive behind your post seems to be personal rather than for the benefit of Stack Exchange as a whole, which probably isn't going to get much support.
Apr 23, 2012 at 3:55 answer added Manishearth timeline score: 2
Apr 23, 2012 at 3:55 answer added yannis timeline score: 4
Apr 23, 2012 at 3:30 history asked karlphillip CC BY-SA 3.0