Skip to main content
20 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Apr 10, 2023 at 19:55 comment added LFY MP7.3 @Harper - Reinstate Monica - Agreed! Unfortunately, life is nothing but luck (at least for us!). However, depression and sadness don't do any good. If life is rubbish, death solves everything and that improves our spirits when we think about it. We should never lose our hope.
Apr 10, 2023 at 19:27 comment added Harper - Reinstate Monica Yes, that weird economics is the difference between "GDP" and "PPP". Like for me, $27 will buy that jack, or five loaves of bread. The farmer and baker are paid basically similar to me since we're competing in the same market for housing, food, and basic goods. And probably the same for you too. But a foreign manufacturer wants the same hard currency (Euro/USD) from any country that buys it - that's the problem with foreign-made goods. I think of all the Ukrainian apartments with mini-split units that cost more than American A/C units... they paid a fortune for them!
Apr 10, 2023 at 12:22 comment added LFY MP7.3 @Martin - Pictures are now available.
Apr 10, 2023 at 12:22 comment added LFY MP7.3 @HandyHowie - I added pictures of the jack as promised.
Apr 10, 2023 at 12:21 history edited LFY MP7.3 CC BY-SA 4.0
added 1129 characters in body
Apr 6, 2023 at 21:00 comment added Martin An photo of the spindle would be helpful
Apr 6, 2023 at 20:24 answer added Weather Vane timeline score: 3
Apr 6, 2023 at 11:41 comment added LFY MP7.3 @HandyHowie - Thanks for your precious info! I think you are talking about leverage power of the jack. I will come back later with some pictures and more detailed inspection.
Apr 6, 2023 at 11:37 comment added HandyHowie Teeth Per Inch. Do the threads look closer together, further apart, or the same? If the threads a further apart, then a single turn will lift the jack quicker, but it will be more difficult. The length of each 'arm' will also make a difference. You could turn both jacks by 10 rotations and see which has extended the most. The quicker it extends, the more difficult it will be to turn. A thrust bearing will also decrease friction dramatically, so lack of one will make turning the jack more difficult.
Apr 6, 2023 at 11:00 comment added LFY MP7.3 @HandyHowie - Yes, I can turn its crank freely when it is not under load. I don't remember anything like a bearing on it but I will inspect it more closely. What does TPI stand for?
Apr 6, 2023 at 10:56 comment added HandyHowie Can you turn the crank freely without the car resting on it? Can you tell if there is a thrust bearing installed at the front of the threaded shaft? Does the threaded shaft have a similar TPI to the jacks that you find easy to use?
Apr 6, 2023 at 10:52 history edited LFY MP7.3 CC BY-SA 4.0
deleted 1 character in body
Apr 6, 2023 at 10:50 review Close votes
Apr 9, 2023 at 23:15
Apr 6, 2023 at 10:49 comment added LFY MP7.3 @jwh20 - I can upload some pictures of my jack later. You are right about $27 not considered as a fortune to pay for anything including a jack but that's cheap for you in your country!! Here where I live, $27 means quite a fortune for middle-class people!
Apr 6, 2023 at 10:45 comment added LFY MP7.3 @handyHowie - My jack is very much like this one but it is rated at 2 ton: amazon.com/Torin-Steel-Scissor-Jack-Capacity/dp/B004PX8BC2?th=1
Apr 6, 2023 at 10:37 comment added jwh20 I'm not finding any "Big Red" 2 ton scissor jacks. I only find a 1.5 ton model. I also don't see any Big Red jacks at all that you might have "paid almost a fortune for". The 1.5 ton model is advertised for around $27.00 at many places including Amazon. I'd put this squarely into the category of "cheap Chinese" jacks.
Apr 6, 2023 at 10:33 comment added HandyHowie Can you add a link to the exact jack you have purchased?
Apr 6, 2023 at 10:29 comment added LFY MP7.3 @jwh20 - Yes, it can be expressed in both ways. It is so hard for me to turn its handle to lift the car but it is not my fault because I could lift the same car with other jacks. That's why I say, the jack struggles not me! The jack doesn't seem to bend or deform while operating and I even checked it to raise as straight as possible.
Apr 6, 2023 at 10:25 comment added jwh20 I'm not clear by what you mean by "it struggles". Is the jack deforming or bending or do you mean it's just difficult for YOU to turn the crank. In other words, YOU struggle to use the jack??
Apr 6, 2023 at 10:22 history asked LFY MP7.3 CC BY-SA 4.0