Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

13
  • 10
    Thank you for using the term "donut" to refer to a spare tire. I used that word at a tire store some years ago and they stared at me as though a new limb had spontaneously erupted from my forehead. (That is, they had no idea what the word meant). I've been silently unsure of my use of the term since...until now!
    – bvoyelr
    Commented May 11, 2018 at 16:16
  • 20
    For a stuck tire, you don't need to kick it from under the car. Stand with your back to the car and "donkey kick" the bottom sidewall of the tire, turn the tire 90 or 180 degrees and repeat. I've done this successfully dozens of times, its effective and much safer.
    – Dan
    Commented May 11, 2018 at 18:36
  • 17
    I've had 3 scissor jacks collapse while being used, all for the car they were provided with (mostly due to age/no maintenance). Once the jack collapsed while I was under the car (luckily I had jack stands in place). Don't ever trust a jack, if I have to get under the car, I have 2 jack stands and test them before getting under (jack stands can fail/tip too).
    – Ron Beyer
    Commented May 11, 2018 at 20:25
  • 3
    For the people who think this is not plausible, I have a friend who did this, too... And now he has to listen to the story at every gathering, "remember that time [name redacted] was silly enough to get under the car and kick the tire?!!" Commented May 12, 2018 at 18:06
  • 17
    One of my neighbours died this way about 25 years ago. He was about 19 years old, 2 houses away. Commented May 14, 2018 at 8:22