Skip to main content
minor tweaks
Source Link
Pᴀᴜʟsᴛᴇʀ2
  • 158.9k
  • 30
  • 253
  • 494

I did search "jack stand" and there are lots of posts that get close, but nothing that really covers the specifics of what I'm looking for here.

I have a 2000 Toyota Camry with 143k mile on it. My garage is not terribly wide and I need to jack up just the front to work on the brake calipers and pads. The normal jacking points according to the manual (Chilton's, etc), and according to the Toyota owners manual, is between two notches along the weld on the frame rail just inside of each wheel (just behind the front wheels, and ahead of the rear wheels). This is for a different model Toyota, but the jack point positions are essentially the the same.

Jack Points

Mine is also at the pinch weld.

So, I want to jack the front up all at once. I found a place on the frame and used a scrap 2x4 to cushion the frame from the floor jack. Since I need to hold up the front end, but due to the narrow garage I can't get under the passenger side to place that jack stand I need to find a place under the frame to put both stands.

So, my questions:

  • I have the rubber pads to protect the pinch welds for my stands. Do I need something else / better to protect the frame? I'm nervous about using that 2x4 because that seems very unstable.
  • Where on the frame can I place the stands? They have to be far enough apart to evenly support the frame, and that means wide placement. It's a front wheel drive car so things get complicated for finding strong frame points.
  • Is there a practical limit to how high I can jack the car? The stands are on the floor with nothing between them and the concrete garage floor.
  • Since I'm only using the stands with nothing between them and the frame, can I go high enough that I risk the car rolling backwards off the stands? (Granted, I do chock the rear wheels duringwhile doing this).

I did search "jack stand" and there are lots of posts that get close, but nothing that really covers the specifics of what I'm looking for here.

I have a 2000 Toyota Camry with 143k mile on it. My garage is not terribly wide and I need to jack up just the front to work on the brake calipers and pads. The normal jacking points according to the manual (Chilton's, etc), and according to the Toyota owners manual, is between two notches along the weld on the frame rail just inside of each wheel (just behind the front wheels, and ahead of the rear wheels). This is for a different model Toyota, but the jack point positions are essentially the the same.

Jack Points

Mine is also at the pinch weld.

So, I want to jack the front up all at once. I found a place on the frame and used a scrap 2x4 to cushion the frame from the floor jack. Since I need to hold up the front end, but due to the narrow garage I can't get under the passenger side to place that jack stand I need to find a place under the frame to put both stands.

So, my questions:

  • I have the rubber pads to protect the pinch welds for my stands. Do I need something else / better to protect the frame? I'm nervous about using that 2x4 because that seems very unstable.
  • Where on the frame can I place the stands? They have to be far enough apart to evenly support the frame, and that means wide placement. It's a front wheel drive car so things get complicated for finding strong frame points.
  • Is there a practical limit to how high I can jack the car? The stands are on the floor with nothing between them and the concrete garage floor.
  • Since I'm only using the stands with nothing between them and the frame, can I go high enough that I risk the car rolling backwards off the stands? (Granted, I do chock the rear wheels during this)

I did search "jack stand" and there are lots of posts that get close, but nothing that really covers the specifics of what I'm looking for here.

I have a 2000 Toyota Camry with 143k mile on it. My garage is not terribly wide and I need to jack up just the front to work on the brake calipers and pads. The normal jacking points according to the manual (Chilton's, etc), and according to the Toyota owners manual, is between two notches along the weld on the frame rail just inside of each wheel (just behind the front wheels, and ahead of the rear wheels). This is for a different model Toyota, but the jack point positions are essentially the the same.

Jack Points

Mine is also at the pinch weld.

So, I want to jack the front up all at once. I found a place on the frame and used a scrap 2x4 to cushion the frame from the floor jack. Since I need to hold up the front end, but due to the narrow garage I can't get under the passenger side to place that jack stand I need to find a place under the frame to put both stands.

So, my questions:

  • I have the rubber pads to protect the pinch welds for my stands. Do I need something else / better to protect the frame? I'm nervous about using that 2x4 because that seems very unstable.
  • Where on the frame can I place the stands? They have to be far enough apart to evenly support the frame, and that means wide placement. It's a front wheel drive car so things get complicated for finding strong frame points.
  • Is there a practical limit to how high I can jack the car? The stands are on the floor with nothing between them and the concrete garage floor.
  • Since I'm only using the stands with nothing between them and the frame, can I go high enough that I risk the car rolling backwards off the stands? (Granted, I do chock the rear wheels while doing this).
Tweeted twitter.com/StackMechanics/status/717334477614235652
Source Link
cdunn
  • 9.3k
  • 7
  • 43
  • 75

Jack stand placement on frame rail for 2000 Toyota Camry

I did search "jack stand" and there are lots of posts that get close, but nothing that really covers the specifics of what I'm looking for here.

I have a 2000 Toyota Camry with 143k mile on it. My garage is not terribly wide and I need to jack up just the front to work on the brake calipers and pads. The normal jacking points according to the manual (Chilton's, etc), and according to the Toyota owners manual, is between two notches along the weld on the frame rail just inside of each wheel (just behind the front wheels, and ahead of the rear wheels). This is for a different model Toyota, but the jack point positions are essentially the the same.

Jack Points

Mine is also at the pinch weld.

So, I want to jack the front up all at once. I found a place on the frame and used a scrap 2x4 to cushion the frame from the floor jack. Since I need to hold up the front end, but due to the narrow garage I can't get under the passenger side to place that jack stand I need to find a place under the frame to put both stands.

So, my questions:

  • I have the rubber pads to protect the pinch welds for my stands. Do I need something else / better to protect the frame? I'm nervous about using that 2x4 because that seems very unstable.
  • Where on the frame can I place the stands? They have to be far enough apart to evenly support the frame, and that means wide placement. It's a front wheel drive car so things get complicated for finding strong frame points.
  • Is there a practical limit to how high I can jack the car? The stands are on the floor with nothing between them and the concrete garage floor.
  • Since I'm only using the stands with nothing between them and the frame, can I go high enough that I risk the car rolling backwards off the stands? (Granted, I do chock the rear wheels during this)