Skip to main content
8 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Jun 19, 2013 at 17:51 comment added Filippo Alberto Edoardo @Federico and GMark: thanks, I see what you mean. I personally got used to the stylus and use it as everyday substitute of most of my paper (expecially for preparing my talks or taking notes), using Notability. It has a nice zoom feature which I got used to and works well for sup/subscripts. But I have never tried it as a board, so I trust your word better.
Jun 15, 2013 at 15:18 comment added GMark Regarding the Ipad one cannot in my experience get the same sort of precision: try to write a subscript of a subscript for example (at normal writing size). The typical pen sold (aftermarket) for the Ipad has a very fat end (it's just replacing your finger) so it's not too surprising. Like writing with the eraser end of the pencil instead of the lead end.
Jun 15, 2013 at 10:22 comment added Federico Poloni Oh, and (3) 9.7'' feels a tad too small to use it as a blackboard substitute. How many lines of text can you fit on it?
Jun 15, 2013 at 10:21 comment added Federico Poloni colleagues where I work. And @GMark below writes exactly the same thing.
Jun 15, 2013 at 10:20 comment added Federico Poloni (1) worse writing quality than an active digitizer, especially for writing in smaller sizes --- and if you use it as a blackboard, you need to write small (2) can't disable touch input; this leads to spurious inputs whenever a part of your body other than the pen touches the iPad. You might get used to that, but if you give the tablet to, say, a student, they won't be able to get good results without some training. Of course, I realize that this might just be a pet peeve of mine after years of habit with active-digitizer tablets, but at least it's an opinion that is shared by several [...]
Jun 15, 2013 at 5:28 comment added Filippo Alberto Edoardo @Federico: Why do you say that using an iPad is a pain? I have never tried to connect it to a projector, but I use it as tablet+stylus for taking notes during talks or simply when working on my own, and I find the result really good, both in terms of easiness of use and readability of the output.
Jun 12, 2013 at 0:10 history made wiki Post Made Community Wiki by S. Carnahan
Jun 10, 2013 at 18:37 history answered Federico Poloni CC BY-SA 3.0