Skip to main content
10 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Mar 26, 2016 at 1:57 history edited J. M.'s missing motivation CC BY-SA 3.0
added 797 characters in body
Mar 24, 2016 at 16:29 comment added user484 I don't think the original drawing is systematic in its choice of direction either, though.
Mar 24, 2016 at 14:04 comment added J. M.'s missing motivation @Rahul, I can't help but feel there's a more systematic way, tho...
Mar 24, 2016 at 13:52 comment added user484 To deal with the rotation direction, you could replace every polygon p with RandomChoice[p, Reverse@p] before applying NestList.
Mar 24, 2016 at 9:18 comment added Martin Ender @J.M. Oh, I just noticed that this solution doesn't do that yet. Yeah, that definitely helps with the uniform density, but I think even when the direction on two adjacent polygons is the same, is looks a bit more homogeneous. I'm not entirely sure how to go about that though... I'll see if I come up with anything.
Mar 24, 2016 at 9:14 comment added J. M.'s missing motivation @Martin, the other thing contributing to that illusion is that the polygons were not all rotated in the same direction. That I think takes more work to do.
Mar 24, 2016 at 9:07 comment added Martin Ender I wonder if it would be possible to make the edges of the Voronoi mesh less visible. In the original image the polygon edges are barely noticeable because the lines on either side start have a very uniform density, whereas here those edges are quite pronounced.
Mar 24, 2016 at 8:22 comment added J. M.'s missing motivation Very perceptive of you! :) That's why I used linear interpolation over each polygon edge instead of scaling + rotating; that other approach will inevitably have corners jutting out of the spiral for some irregular polygons.
Mar 24, 2016 at 8:19 comment added LLlAMnYP Maybe it's just a matter of perception, but I like this the best. I think (could be wrong), that the other answers have the lines simply spiraling into the center of the mesh cell, whereas they ought to hit the boundary before turning and heading to the next edge. +1
Mar 24, 2016 at 8:00 history answered J. M.'s missing motivation CC BY-SA 3.0