Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

8
  • 1
    $\begingroup$ Maybe it's just a matter of perception, but I like this the best. I think (could be wrong), that the other answers have the lines simply spiraling into the center of the mesh cell, whereas they ought to hit the boundary before turning and heading to the next edge. +1 $\endgroup$
    – LLlAMnYP
    Commented Mar 24, 2016 at 8:19
  • $\begingroup$ Very perceptive of you! :) That's why I used linear interpolation over each polygon edge instead of scaling + rotating; that other approach will inevitably have corners jutting out of the spiral for some irregular polygons. $\endgroup$ Commented Mar 24, 2016 at 8:22
  • $\begingroup$ I wonder if it would be possible to make the edges of the Voronoi mesh less visible. In the original image the polygon edges are barely noticeable because the lines on either side start have a very uniform density, whereas here those edges are quite pronounced. $\endgroup$ Commented Mar 24, 2016 at 9:07
  • $\begingroup$ @Martin, the other thing contributing to that illusion is that the polygons were not all rotated in the same direction. That I think takes more work to do. $\endgroup$ Commented Mar 24, 2016 at 9:14
  • $\begingroup$ @J.M. Oh, I just noticed that this solution doesn't do that yet. Yeah, that definitely helps with the uniform density, but I think even when the direction on two adjacent polygons is the same, is looks a bit more homogeneous. I'm not entirely sure how to go about that though... I'll see if I come up with anything. $\endgroup$ Commented Mar 24, 2016 at 9:18