Skip to main content
added 2 characters in body
Source Link
Karl
  • 1.6k
  • 1
  • 9
  • 14

Here's how I would have attempted the lesson.

First I would have given the students various cards such as:

  • $\sin(A+B)=\sin A+\sin B$
  • $\sin(A+B)=\sin A \cos B + \sin B \cos A$
  • $\sin(A+B)=\sin(B+A)$

As a rule of thumb 8 cards is usually good. Never do more than 12 It just gets messy. Ask the students to sort them in to piles of true and false. No calculator just discuss and provide a reason for your choice.

Next give them a calculator and ask them to see if they are correct. At the level you are talking about they should be able to reason to substitute values in. You could ask them whether or not they were initially right or what common misconceptions do they think others have? Do the rules always work or only sometimes?

To conclude I would have given them a fact or two such as $\sin30=0.5$ and$\cos45=0.707$ and challenged them to clumpcome up with as many other facts as they can.

I probably wouldn't have proved the results. Proof, in my opinion, needs delicate care in lessons. I'll elaborate on that if so wished later.

Best looking at exam boards themselves for latest info. AQA or Edexcel.

Hope this helps.

Here's how I would have attempted the lesson.

First I would have given the students various cards such as:

  • $\sin(A+B)=\sin A+\sin B$
  • $\sin(A+B)=\sin A \cos B + \sin B \cos A$
  • $\sin(A+B)=\sin(B+A)$

As a rule of thumb 8 cards is usually good. Never do more than 12 It just gets messy. Ask the students to sort them in to piles of true and false. No calculator just discuss and provide a reason for your choice.

Next give them a calculator and ask them to see if they are correct. At the level you are talking about they should be able to reason to substitute values in. You could ask them whether or not they were initially right or what common misconceptions do they think others have? Do the rules always work or only sometimes?

To conclude I would have given them a fact or two such as $\sin30=0.5$ and$\cos45=0.707$ and challenged them to clump with as many other facts as they can.

I probably wouldn't have proved the results. Proof, in my opinion, needs delicate care in lessons. I'll elaborate on that if so wished later.

Best looking at exam boards themselves for latest info. AQA or Edexcel.

Hope this helps.

Here's how I would have attempted the lesson.

First I would have given the students various cards such as:

  • $\sin(A+B)=\sin A+\sin B$
  • $\sin(A+B)=\sin A \cos B + \sin B \cos A$
  • $\sin(A+B)=\sin(B+A)$

As a rule of thumb 8 cards is usually good. Never do more than 12 It just gets messy. Ask the students to sort them in to piles of true and false. No calculator just discuss and provide a reason for your choice.

Next give them a calculator and ask them to see if they are correct. At the level you are talking about they should be able to reason to substitute values in. You could ask them whether or not they were initially right or what common misconceptions do they think others have? Do the rules always work or only sometimes?

To conclude I would have given them a fact or two such as $\sin30=0.5$ and$\cos45=0.707$ and challenged them to come up with as many other facts as they can.

I probably wouldn't have proved the results. Proof, in my opinion, needs delicate care in lessons. I'll elaborate on that if so wished later.

Best looking at exam boards themselves for latest info. AQA or Edexcel.

Hope this helps.

Source Link
Karl
  • 1.6k
  • 1
  • 9
  • 14

Here's how I would have attempted the lesson.

First I would have given the students various cards such as:

  • $\sin(A+B)=\sin A+\sin B$
  • $\sin(A+B)=\sin A \cos B + \sin B \cos A$
  • $\sin(A+B)=\sin(B+A)$

As a rule of thumb 8 cards is usually good. Never do more than 12 It just gets messy. Ask the students to sort them in to piles of true and false. No calculator just discuss and provide a reason for your choice.

Next give them a calculator and ask them to see if they are correct. At the level you are talking about they should be able to reason to substitute values in. You could ask them whether or not they were initially right or what common misconceptions do they think others have? Do the rules always work or only sometimes?

To conclude I would have given them a fact or two such as $\sin30=0.5$ and$\cos45=0.707$ and challenged them to clump with as many other facts as they can.

I probably wouldn't have proved the results. Proof, in my opinion, needs delicate care in lessons. I'll elaborate on that if so wished later.

Best looking at exam boards themselves for latest info. AQA or Edexcel.

Hope this helps.