Skip to main content
15 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Aug 10, 2022 at 8:14 comment added user21820 You cannot defend the use of WA because it is frequently WrongAnswer, and yet many students and even teachers do not even know that. That lack of knowledge itself is due to fundamental pedagogical failure.
Mar 5, 2021 at 8:42 comment added David Mulder @vikarjramun I probably did, I wrote this question 7 years ago and part of the reason probably why I am interested in relying on computation is because I have a comparatively hard time remembering numbers 😅
Mar 5, 2021 at 3:44 comment added vikarjramun @DavidMulder I've actually never heard of the Ti-98 and Ti-94 before, and I can't find them online. Did you mean the Ti-89 and Ti-84 respectively?
Mar 2, 2021 at 14:56 comment added David Mulder @FerencBeleznay This was a question from 2014 which I just now reread whilst writing an answer to matheducators.stackexchange.com/questions/19546/… and I just noticed some typos :) . Anyway, that's super interesting and positive to hear and now I know what I will be up to next weekend 😊 .
Mar 2, 2021 at 14:54 comment added Ferenc Beleznay I am not sure when you last looked at the IB Dimploma Programme math curriculum, but the new syllabus (first exams will be this year) has the Application and Interpretation course which does allow calculator on all exams, even at higher level. My impression is (this is not fact based) that in a not too distant future they will allow computer algebra systems on their exams. They certainly mention electronic assessment as a goal.
Mar 2, 2021 at 14:05 history edited David Mulder CC BY-SA 4.0
deleted 34 characters in body
Apr 13, 2017 at 12:50 history edited CommunityBot
replaced http://matheducators.stackexchange.com/ with https://matheducators.stackexchange.com/
Jun 9, 2014 at 3:16 answer added David Mulder timeline score: 2
Jun 9, 2014 at 2:37 answer added JPBurke timeline score: 3
Jun 7, 2014 at 0:12 comment added David Mulder @BenCrowell: I have a lot of things in mind myself, but what I was looking for was others who had taken the time to investigate and develop curricula around it. Personally I don't care for the specific ways WA takes queries, but indeed, I am thinking of it as a more advanced CAS capable calculator, not a data analysis tool (for that R and/or pure programming and/or spreadsheets should still be taught).
Jun 6, 2014 at 23:58 comment added Steven Gubkin @vonbrand You might check out the (possibly out of print) "Calculus and Mathematica"? Seems pretty great.
Jun 6, 2014 at 22:17 comment added user507 From the question, it isn't clear to me what it is that you want. Do you have some intellectual content in mind, with software as a way of avoiding tedium while the students learn that intellectual content? If so, then what intellectual content is that? Or do you see learning software as and end in and of itself? You use Wolfram Alpha as an example. WA is a big, proprietary system that includes natural language processing. Do you have in mind teaching students how to phrase queries for WA successfully, e.g., "what is the population of Nigera?" Or are you thinking of it just as a CAS?
Jun 6, 2014 at 20:47 comment added vonbrand Sorry to hijack your question, but I want to know what concrete experiences there are with such an approach? Any level, be it primary school to undergraduate studies.
Jun 6, 2014 at 14:15 review First posts
Jun 6, 2014 at 21:07
Jun 6, 2014 at 13:55 history asked David Mulder CC BY-SA 3.0