Skip to main content
deleted 34 characters in body
Source Link

(tl;dr: skip to the question)

Context

For the last few years I have been pondering about the use and disuse of calculators in secondary school level mathematics. Now, after coming across a 'hot network question' regarding a student enquiring why calculator shouldn't be used and the extend to which Math Educators seemed to feel obligated to defend it. On the other hand, for most (not all students) I am inclined to argue that it's more valuable to teach them 6 years of using calculators and things like WolframAlpha, r/statistics and programming than it is to teach so much paperwork (thus allowing also harder questions to be solved). Now, that's just my opinion and one I believe I can defend, however not the crux of this question.

Question

What I am wondering about is whether there are any curricula that do allow calculator use (including better calculators such as dethe TI98) on all papers/examinations and are build around extensive technology use (doesn't matter if it it's from some far away random country).


What I do know

The two I know best: the IB program and the VWO program both allow the use of calculators on part of the exam, however contain questions explicitly designed to be unusableunsolvable with a calculator or have entire sections where a calculator may not be used. Additionally both limit the 'power' of the calculator significantly (simply put, nothing above the TI94).

(tl;dr: skip to the question)

Context

For the last few years I have been pondering about the use and disuse of calculators in secondary school level mathematics. Now, after coming across a 'hot network question' regarding a student enquiring why calculator shouldn't be used and the extend to which Math Educators seemed to feel obligated to defend it. On the other hand, for most (not all students) I am inclined to argue that it's more valuable to teach them 6 years of using calculators and things like WolframAlpha, r/statistics and programming than it is to teach so much paperwork (thus allowing also harder questions to be solved). Now, that's just my opinion and one I believe I can defend, however not the crux of this question.

Question

What I am wondering about is whether there are any curricula that do allow calculator use (including better calculators such as de TI98) on all papers/examinations and are build around extensive technology use (doesn't matter if it it's from some far away random country).


What I do know

The two I know best: the IB program and the VWO program both allow the use of calculators on part of the exam, however contain questions explicitly designed to be unusable with a calculator or have entire sections where a calculator may not be used. Additionally both limit the 'power' of the calculator significantly (simply put, nothing above the TI94).

Context

For the last few years I have been pondering about the use and disuse of calculators in secondary school level mathematics. Now, after coming across a 'hot network question' regarding a student enquiring why calculator shouldn't be used and the extend to which Math Educators seemed to feel obligated to defend it. On the other hand, for most (not all students) I am inclined to argue that it's more valuable to teach them 6 years of using calculators and things like WolframAlpha, r/statistics and programming than it is to teach so much paperwork (thus allowing also harder questions to be solved). Now, that's just my opinion and one I believe I can defend, however not the crux of this question.

Question

What I am wondering about is whether there are any curricula that do allow calculator use (including better calculators such as the TI98) on all papers/examinations and are build around extensive technology use (doesn't matter if it it's from some far away random country).


What I do know

The two I know best: the IB program and the VWO program both allow the use of calculators on part of the exam, however contain questions explicitly designed to be unsolvable with a calculator or have entire sections where a calculator may not be used. Additionally both limit the 'power' of the calculator significantly (simply put, nothing above the TI94).

replaced http://matheducators.stackexchange.com/ with https://matheducators.stackexchange.com/
Source Link

(tl;dr: skip to the question)

Context

For the last few years I have been pondering about the use and disuse of calculators in secondary school level mathematics. Now, after coming across a 'hot network question' regarding a student enquiring why calculator shouldn't be usedregarding a student enquiring why calculator shouldn't be used and the extend to which Math Educators seemed to feel obligated to defend it. On the other hand, for most (not all students) I am inclined to argue that it's more valuable to teach them 6 years of using calculators and things like WolframAlpha, r/statistics and programming than it is to teach so much paperwork (thus allowing also harder questions to be solved). Now, that's just my opinion and one I believe I can defend, however not the crux of this question.

Question

What I am wondering about is whether there are any curricula that do allow calculator use (including better calculators such as de TI98) on all papers/examinations and are build around extensive technology use (doesn't matter if it it's from some far away random country).


What I do know

The two I know best: the IB program and the VWO program both allow the use of calculators on part of the exam, however contain questions explicitly designed to be unusable with a calculator or have entire sections where a calculator may not be used. Additionally both limit the 'power' of the calculator significantly (simply put, nothing above the TI94).

(tl;dr: skip to the question)

Context

For the last few years I have been pondering about the use and disuse of calculators in secondary school level mathematics. Now, after coming across a 'hot network question' regarding a student enquiring why calculator shouldn't be used and the extend to which Math Educators seemed to feel obligated to defend it. On the other hand, for most (not all students) I am inclined to argue that it's more valuable to teach them 6 years of using calculators and things like WolframAlpha, r/statistics and programming than it is to teach so much paperwork (thus allowing also harder questions to be solved). Now, that's just my opinion and one I believe I can defend, however not the crux of this question.

Question

What I am wondering about is whether there are any curricula that do allow calculator use (including better calculators such as de TI98) on all papers/examinations and are build around extensive technology use (doesn't matter if it it's from some far away random country).


What I do know

The two I know best: the IB program and the VWO program both allow the use of calculators on part of the exam, however contain questions explicitly designed to be unusable with a calculator or have entire sections where a calculator may not be used. Additionally both limit the 'power' of the calculator significantly (simply put, nothing above the TI94).

(tl;dr: skip to the question)

Context

For the last few years I have been pondering about the use and disuse of calculators in secondary school level mathematics. Now, after coming across a 'hot network question' regarding a student enquiring why calculator shouldn't be used and the extend to which Math Educators seemed to feel obligated to defend it. On the other hand, for most (not all students) I am inclined to argue that it's more valuable to teach them 6 years of using calculators and things like WolframAlpha, r/statistics and programming than it is to teach so much paperwork (thus allowing also harder questions to be solved). Now, that's just my opinion and one I believe I can defend, however not the crux of this question.

Question

What I am wondering about is whether there are any curricula that do allow calculator use (including better calculators such as de TI98) on all papers/examinations and are build around extensive technology use (doesn't matter if it it's from some far away random country).


What I do know

The two I know best: the IB program and the VWO program both allow the use of calculators on part of the exam, however contain questions explicitly designed to be unusable with a calculator or have entire sections where a calculator may not be used. Additionally both limit the 'power' of the calculator significantly (simply put, nothing above the TI94).

Source Link

Is there a calculator centered secondary school curriculum somewhere?

(tl;dr: skip to the question)

Context

For the last few years I have been pondering about the use and disuse of calculators in secondary school level mathematics. Now, after coming across a 'hot network question' regarding a student enquiring why calculator shouldn't be used and the extend to which Math Educators seemed to feel obligated to defend it. On the other hand, for most (not all students) I am inclined to argue that it's more valuable to teach them 6 years of using calculators and things like WolframAlpha, r/statistics and programming than it is to teach so much paperwork (thus allowing also harder questions to be solved). Now, that's just my opinion and one I believe I can defend, however not the crux of this question.

Question

What I am wondering about is whether there are any curricula that do allow calculator use (including better calculators such as de TI98) on all papers/examinations and are build around extensive technology use (doesn't matter if it it's from some far away random country).


What I do know

The two I know best: the IB program and the VWO program both allow the use of calculators on part of the exam, however contain questions explicitly designed to be unusable with a calculator or have entire sections where a calculator may not be used. Additionally both limit the 'power' of the calculator significantly (simply put, nothing above the TI94).