Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

3
  • $\begingroup$ Perhaps give some context about your country, student ages, and type of schools/colleges/universities your students attend. Your references to "past papers" and especially to "are identified and assigned to tutees" seem rather strange to me (although I can guess some places where this makes sense). For example, when I meet with a school student at the local public library or at their home (being contacted by their parents, who found my name on a locally distributed tutor list), we might use something like this, but nothing is "assigned to me". $\endgroup$ Commented Nov 26, 2021 at 11:50
  • $\begingroup$ I see now that you're the person who asked the question, so I guess you have enough context. Still, the meaning of "past papers" and "are identified and assigned to tutees" seem strange to me. I'm guessing you're in England from your reference to "A-Levels". Maybe it would help if you explain what you mean by a tutor, because to me it sounds like you're an official teaching assistant of some kind, and not someone the student/partents contacted to obtain extra help after school. Incidentally, your question is highly dependent on a lot of things and often presents a quandary for teachers. $\endgroup$ Commented Nov 26, 2021 at 11:56
  • $\begingroup$ @DaveLRenfro AP calls them "past exam questions" and IB and A-Levels call them "past papers". I used both terms in the question and in this answer. I am a private tutor. The sentence "Some reoccuring problem solving skills and motifs are identified and assigned to tutees". means i identify core problem solving skills and assign tutees relevant questions. I know my question is highly dependent on a lot of things and I was looking for others responded to their circumstances, not for someone to respond to all circumstances. $\endgroup$
    – okzoomer
    Commented Nov 26, 2021 at 15:12