Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

3
  • 1
    $\begingroup$ Great question! I've been thinking about this since my current institution has internal funding for CURE like programs, and I have not yet been able to come up with a good research topic that is approachable to undergraduates. (It doesn't help that my institution's program is designed for freshmen and sophomores.) $\endgroup$ Commented Aug 19, 2016 at 14:36
  • $\begingroup$ @WillieWong: Yes, it seems efforts are primarily focused on beginning courses. It would not be so difficult to use CURE in an advanced topics course. But I thinking of Theory of Computation, which is roughly equivalent to Discrete Mathematics. $\endgroup$ Commented Aug 19, 2016 at 21:42
  • 1
    $\begingroup$ I'm not entirely sure of what counts as CURE, but I feel like Alan Schoenfeld described teaching a math course that involves something like this. He may have written about it in "Mathematical Problem Solving." $\endgroup$
    – Noah
    Commented Sep 11, 2016 at 23:55