Skip to main content
fix typos
Source Link

I think the implication is that Von Bork is so knowledgeable that he can guess just which minister's country house is meant, and he has also been a guest at that house.

If I am correct, this not an idiomatic expression at all, but is meant literally: Van Bork has been at that house. I must admit that I do not have any clear evidence of this, but I think it is more logical than assuming that he is speaking metaphorically about a somewhat simiansimilar experience. After all the essence of Holmesian adventure is the ability (mostly of Holmes, but not always) to come to correct conclusions on what seems quite insufficient evidence.

I think the implication is that Von Bork is so knowledgeable that he can guess just which minister's country house is meant, and he has also been a guest at that house.

If I am correct, this not an idiomatic expression at all, but is meant literally: Van Bork has been at that house. I must admit that I do not have any clear evidence of this, but I think it is more logical than assuming that he is speaking metaphorically about a somewhat simian experience. After all the essence of Holmesian adventure is the ability (mostly of Holmes, but not always) to come to correct conclusions on what seems quite insufficient evidence.

I think the implication is that Von Bork is so knowledgeable that he can guess just which minister's country house is meant, and he has also been a guest at that house.

If I am correct, this not an idiomatic expression at all, but is meant literally: Van Bork has been at that house. I must admit that I do not have any clear evidence of this, but I think it is more logical than assuming that he is speaking metaphorically about a somewhat similar experience. After all the essence of Holmesian adventure is the ability (mostly of Holmes, but not always) to come to correct conclusions on what seems quite insufficient evidence.

expand answer
Source Link

I think the implication is that VanVon Bork is so knowledgeable that he can guess just which minister's country house is meant, and he has also been a guest at that house.

If I am correct, this not an idiomatic expression at all, but is meant literally: Van Bork has been at that house. I must admit that I do not have any clear evidence of this, but I think it is more logical than assuming that he is speaking metaphorically about a somewhat simian experience. After all the essence of Holmesian adventure is the ability (mostly of Holmes, but not always) to come to correct conclusions on what seems quite insufficient evidence.

I think the implication is that Van Bork is so knowledgeable that he can guess just which minister's country house is meant, and he has also been a guest at that house.

I think the implication is that Von Bork is so knowledgeable that he can guess just which minister's country house is meant, and he has also been a guest at that house.

If I am correct, this not an idiomatic expression at all, but is meant literally: Van Bork has been at that house. I must admit that I do not have any clear evidence of this, but I think it is more logical than assuming that he is speaking metaphorically about a somewhat simian experience. After all the essence of Holmesian adventure is the ability (mostly of Holmes, but not always) to come to correct conclusions on what seems quite insufficient evidence.

Source Link

I think the implication is that Van Bork is so knowledgeable that he can guess just which minister's country house is meant, and he has also been a guest at that house.