Skip to main content
7 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Apr 13, 2017 at 12:54 history edited CommunityBot
replaced http://anime.stackexchange.com/ with https://anime.stackexchange.com/
Jan 28, 2017 at 21:24 comment added Torisuda @Hamlet I definitely agree. When I first started participating on Anime and Manga, I purposely emulated the style of the answers I enjoyed reading. The ones I liked most were long, thoughtful, and replete with references. The answers I've seen here so far are mostly decent, but they tend towards concisely expressing one or two key thoughts, whereas the professional criticism I've read can explore a key thought across chapters and chapters of a book, exploring how it touches on dozens of scenes and passages in the work under analysis.
Jan 28, 2017 at 21:19 comment added user111 I think part of the problem is that we're a week into the private beta, and we don't have any examples of high quality answers for people to emulate.
Jan 28, 2017 at 21:15 comment added Torisuda @Hamlet Good question, and I don't have a good answer for you. We'll need to first make sure we have a good supply of insightful questions that invite thoughtful analysis. We might also have to encourage people to take some questions to SF&F where applicable, and maybe even downvote questions that don't meet our standards. Once we have some good questions and answers, we might also be able to effect some change with "extracurriculars" like reading groups and "best of" posts. These haven't worked on Anime, but the community here seems more engaged.
Jan 28, 2017 at 19:35 comment added user111 I agree with this answer. My question is: how do we become the kind of site you describe in this answer? I haven't seen any answers (and to be honest, less than 10% of questions) on this this are what I would describe as "expert level content".
Jan 28, 2017 at 18:39 history edited Torisuda CC BY-SA 3.0
Add some bolded text to emphasize important points
Jan 28, 2017 at 18:17 history answered Torisuda CC BY-SA 3.0