Skip to main content
Became Hot Network Question
deleted 21 characters in body
Source Link
user1807
  • 221
  • 1
  • 4

Imagine the following scenario:

A software companiescompany copies code from some open source project and includes it in their own software without giving credit to the original authors, violating the open source license and copyright.

The software company then gives me the software and it'sits source code under a proprietary license. If I am not aware of the copyright violation, am I at risk of legal consequences if I store the source code on my computer and use the software?

Suppose that at some point I become aware of the copyright violation. Am I at risk of legal consequences at this point?

Imagine the following scenario:

A software companies copies code from some open source project and includes it in their software without giving credit to the original authors, violating the open source license and copyright.

The software company then gives me the software and it's source code under a proprietary license. If I am not aware of the copyright violation, am I at risk of legal consequences if I store the source code on my computer and use the software?

Suppose that at some point I become aware of the copyright violation. Am I at risk of legal consequences at this point?

Imagine the following scenario:

A software company copies code from some open source project and includes it in their own software without giving credit to the original authors, violating the open source license and copyright.

The software company then gives me the software and its source code under a proprietary license. If I am not aware of the copyright violation, am I at risk of legal consequences if I store the source code on my computer and use the software?

Suppose that at some point I become aware of the copyright violation. Am I at risk at this point?

Source Link
user1807
  • 221
  • 1
  • 4

Am I at risk by storing or using software that violates copyright?

Imagine the following scenario:

A software companies copies code from some open source project and includes it in their software without giving credit to the original authors, violating the open source license and copyright.

The software company then gives me the software and it's source code under a proprietary license. If I am not aware of the copyright violation, am I at risk of legal consequences if I store the source code on my computer and use the software?

Suppose that at some point I become aware of the copyright violation. Am I at risk of legal consequences at this point?