Skip to main content
make more generic, and less of a request for legal advice
Source Link
David Siegel
  • 113.9k
  • 10
  • 206
  • 405

I planSuppose that a developer intends to develop an app capable of searching and recommending videos from youtube, courses from udemy and content from other sites. Am IIs s/he allowed to have subscriptions and ads on mysuch an app while using youtube's api? I understand it's allowed to use the api if the platform contains original content, but does content from other platforms count? If not, to what extent can the app be monetized, if at all?

I plan to develop an app capable of searching and recommending videos from youtube, courses from udemy and content from other sites. Am I allowed to have subscriptions and ads on my app while using youtube's api? I understand it's allowed to use the api if the platform contains original content, but does content from other platforms count? If not, to what extent can the app be monetized, if at all?

Suppose that a developer intends to develop an app capable of searching and recommending videos from youtube, courses from udemy and content from other sites. Is s/he allowed to have subscriptions and ads on such an app while using youtube's api? I understand it's allowed to use the api if the platform contains original content, but does content from other platforms count? If not, to what extent can the app be monetized, if at all?

Source Link
João
  • 11
  • 1

What counts as original content according to youtube's api?

I plan to develop an app capable of searching and recommending videos from youtube, courses from udemy and content from other sites. Am I allowed to have subscriptions and ads on my app while using youtube's api? I understand it's allowed to use the api if the platform contains original content, but does content from other platforms count? If not, to what extent can the app be monetized, if at all?