Skip to main content
Post Closed as "Not suitable for this site" by user4657, Trish, Ryan M, David Mulder, BlueDogRanch
added 328 characters in body
Source Link

Edit #2:

I just got my first ever reply back from Twitter saying they ceased withholding a video from my account!

enter image description here

Maybe Twitter's counter-notice process is just really slow, but hopefully this means that I get more soon!

Edit #2:

I just got my first ever reply back from Twitter saying they ceased withholding a video from my account!

enter image description here

Maybe Twitter's counter-notice process is just really slow, but hopefully this means that I get more soon!

added 133 characters in body
Source Link

This turned out very bad. Not only did I receive no reply back from them, they then increasedappeared to increase the number of DMCA complaints my account got. I was receiving at least 5 complaints a day from then on - way faster than I could counter them.

How could anything helping users to add music not be used to facilitate adding without consent?

I like what @josh3736 referenced (from the Betamax case) and I think it's a good response:

This turned out very bad. Not only did I receive no reply back from them, they then increased the number of DMCA complaints my account got. I was receiving at least 5 complaints a day from then on - way faster than I could counter them.

I like what @josh3736 referenced (from the Betamax case):

This turned out very bad. Not only did I receive no reply back from them, they then appeared to increase the number of DMCA complaints my account got. I was receiving at least 5 complaints a day from then on - way faster than I could counter them.

How could anything helping users to add music not be used to facilitate adding without consent?

I like what @josh3736 referenced (from the Betamax case) and I think it's a good response:

added 1494 characters in body
Source Link

Edit:

I don't see why my program would be considered a 'piracy tool' when a program such as youtube-dl (which is in fact the tool my program utilises in order to download music) is able to successfully be reinstated after a DMCA complaint from the RIAA.

Doesn't that program enable users to download copyrighted material from YouTube and other sites? Just because a tool could potentially be used to violate the DMCA, does that mean it can get taken down? Not in youtube-dl's case, and I don't see a difference with mine.



I like what @josh3736 referenced (from the Betamax case):

the business of supplying the equipment that makes such copying feasible should not be stifled simply because the equipment is used by some individuals to make unauthorized reproductions of respondents' works....

EditVideoBot is an automated program that automatically edits videos based on commands provided by other Twitter users that mention the account - I am providing the service, other people operate and produce the material with it. I don't see why I need to take the fall.

Is my program not just one that provides a video editing service? It's purpose is not to infringe on any laws.

Edit:

I don't see why my program would be considered a 'piracy tool' when a program such as youtube-dl (which is in fact the tool my program utilises in order to download music) is able to successfully be reinstated after a DMCA complaint from the RIAA.

Doesn't that program enable users to download copyrighted material from YouTube and other sites? Just because a tool could potentially be used to violate the DMCA, does that mean it can get taken down? Not in youtube-dl's case, and I don't see a difference with mine.



I like what @josh3736 referenced (from the Betamax case):

the business of supplying the equipment that makes such copying feasible should not be stifled simply because the equipment is used by some individuals to make unauthorized reproductions of respondents' works....

EditVideoBot is an automated program that automatically edits videos based on commands provided by other Twitter users that mention the account - I am providing the service, other people operate and produce the material with it. I don't see why I need to take the fall.

Is my program not just one that provides a video editing service? It's purpose is not to infringe on any laws.

Became Hot Network Question
Source Link
Loading