Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

11
  • 3
    "I clearly have no commercial or malicious intent to violate copyright laws." - why would that matter? Either you violated them or you didn't Commented Mar 29, 2021 at 17:25
  • 2
    @RobbieGoodwin I explained what I have tried so far. "How could anything helping Users to add music not be used to facilitate adding without consent?" - well with that logic, is every downloader and video-editing tool considered to be a violation? If I were the copyright owner, I'd be going after sites like TPB and 1337x facilitating mass illegal downloads of my material, not a Twitter editing tool who's sole purpose is to make 30-second videos that would further promote my material through good-natured social media attention. Commented Mar 29, 2021 at 22:01
  • 3
    This is how you learn how atrocious and counter-productive our copyright laws (and culture) are, and DMCA is but a bulying tool more than anything else.
    – Zeus
    Commented Mar 30, 2021 at 2:11
  • 2
    @pigeonburger: This is completely off-topic, but the ads on your project home page just tried to trick me into downloading something fishy by claiming it were necessary to "update my flash player" and "update my ad blocker". You might want to reconsider your source of ads.
    – Heinzi
    Commented Mar 30, 2021 at 7:14
  • 2
    @pigeonburger I think the difference between the bot and a Betamax recorder is that the bot hosts or uploads copyrighted video itself, clearly and unambiguously. The Betamax recorder may not be suppressed under copyright, but an illegally copied video on Betamax can be, or a store that sells them can be shut down! Likewise they can't stop you from sharing the source code of your bot, but they can shut down the Twitter account where there are illegally copied videos. (I am not a lawyer and this is not legal advice) Commented Mar 31, 2021 at 8:26