Skip to main content
Tightened question
Source Link
feetwet
  • 21.9k
  • 13
  • 85
  • 177

Is it legal to upload gameplays, walkthroughs etc Who owns copyright of commercial games on Youtubevideo gameplay captures?

There are many such moviesvideos on Youtube and it doesn't seem they are being removed, so I'd betone might conclude that they do not infringe copyright of the game publisher. But it shouldcould also be OKthat for copyright purposes these constitute derivative works, BUT..but game publishers are happy to have the publicity and so they don't request Youtube remove the videos.

One problem isI have noticed that while there are many such movies, theygameplay videos sometimes miss the game's original sound. I remember I've once even seen a gamplay whoseOne video's description contained the informationexplained that the sound had to be removed since it (naturally) contained music from the game.

Am I to reasonIs it possible that gameplaysvideo of gameplay constitutes but audio, walkthroughs etc. are fineat least in some situations, but only if I don't record the sounds or music the game emits while I play itdoes not?

Or are things more complicated than thatAre these questions subject to license terms of the video game software?

Is it legal to upload gameplays, walkthroughs etc of commercial games on Youtube?

There are many such movies on Youtube and it doesn't seem they are being removed, so I'd bet it should be OK, BUT...

One problem is that while there are many such movies, they sometimes miss the game's original sound. I remember I've once even seen a gamplay whose description contained the information that the sound had to be removed since it (naturally) contained music from the game.

Am I to reason that gameplays, walkthroughs etc. are fine, but only if I don't record the sounds or music the game emits while I play it?

Or are things more complicated than that?

Who owns copyright of video gameplay captures?

There are many videos on Youtube and it doesn't seem they are being removed, so one might conclude that they do not infringe copyright of the game publisher. But it could also be that for copyright purposes these constitute derivative works, but game publishers are happy to have the publicity and so they don't request Youtube remove the videos.

I have noticed that gameplay videos sometimes miss the game's original sound. One video's description explained that the sound had to be removed since it (naturally) contained music from the game.

Is it possible that video of gameplay constitutes but audio, at least in some situations, does not?

Are these questions subject to license terms of the video game software?

Source Link
gaazkam
  • 397
  • 3
  • 9

Is it legal to upload gameplays, walkthroughs etc of commercial games on Youtube?

There are many such movies on Youtube and it doesn't seem they are being removed, so I'd bet it should be OK, BUT...

One problem is that while there are many such movies, they sometimes miss the game's original sound. I remember I've once even seen a gamplay whose description contained the information that the sound had to be removed since it (naturally) contained music from the game.

Am I to reason that gameplays, walkthroughs etc. are fine, but only if I don't record the sounds or music the game emits while I play it?

Or are things more complicated than that?