Skip to main content
Tags
Source Link
feetwet
  • 21.9k
  • 13
  • 85
  • 177

I stole $50,000 from my employer over a 14 month period. They found out and terminated me. I scraped together $50,000 and gave them a cashier's check today.

I was told by someone in the company that they were not going to prosecute me criminally, but that it was possible that they would prosecute me civil-lycivilly.

I don't know what this really means. I assume they are going to go after me for more money, but I'm wondering what they could ask for. Interest on the money over the 14 months? I don't believe that they can prove any damages that I caused. The $50,000 is a very small amount of what the company brings in even in a month's time.

Can someone shed some light on what I am likely to face in the coming weeks and months?

I stole $50,000 from my employer over a 14 month period. They found out and terminated me. I scraped together $50,000 and gave them a cashier's check today.

I was told by someone in the company that they were not going to prosecute me criminally, but that it was possible that they would prosecute me civil-ly.

I don't know what this really means. I assume they are going to go after me for more money, but I'm wondering what they could ask for. Interest on the money over the 14 months? I don't believe that they can prove any damages that I caused. The $50,000 is a very small amount of what the company brings in even in a month's time.

Can someone shed some light on what I am likely to face in the coming weeks and months?

I stole $50,000 from my employer over a 14 month period. They found out and terminated me. I scraped together $50,000 and gave them a cashier's check today.

I was told by someone in the company that they were not going to prosecute me criminally, but that it was possible that they would prosecute me civilly.

I don't know what this really means. I assume they are going to go after me for more money, but I'm wondering what they could ask for. Interest on the money over the 14 months? I don't believe that they can prove any damages that I caused. The $50,000 is a very small amount of what the company brings in even in a month's time.

Can someone shed some light on what I am likely to face in the coming weeks and months?

edited tags
Link
ohwilleke
  • 224.3k
  • 14
  • 431
  • 762
Source Link

Civil Prosecution for theft

I stole $50,000 from my employer over a 14 month period. They found out and terminated me. I scraped together $50,000 and gave them a cashier's check today.

I was told by someone in the company that they were not going to prosecute me criminally, but that it was possible that they would prosecute me civil-ly.

I don't know what this really means. I assume they are going to go after me for more money, but I'm wondering what they could ask for. Interest on the money over the 14 months? I don't believe that they can prove any damages that I caused. The $50,000 is a very small amount of what the company brings in even in a month's time.

Can someone shed some light on what I am likely to face in the coming weeks and months?